Arseny Tarasevich-Nikolaev – Reflections (2018) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Arseny Tarasevich-Nikolaev – Reflections (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 01:21:50 minutes | 1,25 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Decca

Arseny Tarasevich-Nikolaev, the grandson of the great Russian pianist Tatiana Nikolayeva, was born in Moscow in 1993. He began playing the piano at the age of four and made his debut at the age of nine with the Bryansk Chamber Orchestra. After some brilliant performances in several international competitions, the doors of his career opened with a contract on the Decca label following his splendid performance of Rachmaninoff’s Second Concerto at the Sydney Competition in 2016 (the year in which his first album dedicated to Ravel – Gaspard de la nuit – and Debussy – Préludes, Livre Iand L’Isle joyeuse – was released). Cyrus Meher-Homji, the general manager of the classical and jazz division of Decca’s Australian branch, saw Arseny Tarasevich-Nikolaev as the “ultimate piano aristocrat”. It must be said that his exceptional talent, combined with his natural charisma and a good physique as a young early romantic are very advantageous to him.

As a result of this contract, this first recording, entitled “Reflections”, is dedicated to Russian music with Rachmaninov’s Six Moments musicaux, Prokofiev’s famous Visions fugitives, works by Scriabin, Medtner and Tchaikovsky and two Études from Tatiana’s “babouchka” which reveal the composers talent here. Arseny Tarasevich-Nikolaev has numerous projects on the go. Between a tour with the London Philharmonic Orchestra and recitals all over the world, this young pianist is one to watch.  – François Hudry

“when I see Arseny play, the whole history of piano playing begins to unfold before me” (Gerard Willems)

“profound musicality and deeply lyrical talent… a rare treat in a musician of his young age, and we can’t wait to see him grow and develop in his career” (Dr. Alexander Buhr, Decca Classics)

“the piano’s ultimate aristocrat” (Cyrus Meher-Homji, Universal Music Australia)

01. 6 Moments Musicaux, Op.16: No. 1 in B Flat Minor, Andantino
02. 6 Moments Musicaux, Op.16: No. 2 in E Flat Minor, Allegretto
03. 6 Moments Musicaux, Op.16: No. 3 in B Minor, Andante cantabile
04. 6 Moments Musicaux, Op.16: No. 4 in E Minor, Presto
05. 6 Moments Musicaux, Op.16: No. 5 in D Flat Major, Adagio sostenuto
06. 6 Moments Musicaux, Op.16: No. 6 in C Major, Maestoso
07. Forgotten Melodies Book I, Op.38: 6. Canzona serenata
08. Forgotten Melodies Book I, Op.38: 3. Danza festiva
09. 2 Poèmes, Op.32: 1. in F Sharp Major, Andante cantabile
10. 2 Poèmes, Op.32: 2. in D Major, Allegro, con eleganza, con fiducia
11. Visions fugitives, Op.22: 1. Lentamente
12. Visions fugitives, Op.22: 2. Andante
13. Visions fugitives, Op.22: 3. Allegretto
14. Visions fugitives, Op.22: 4. Animato
15. Visions fugitives, Op.22: 5. Molto giocoso
16. Visions fugitives, Op.22: 6. Con eleganza
17. Visions fugitives, Op.22: 7. Pittoresco
18. Visions fugitives, Op.22: 8. Commodo
19. Visions fugitives, Op.22: 9. Allegretto tranquillo
20. Visions fugitives, Op.22: 10. Ridiculosamente
21. Visions fugitives, Op.22: 11. Con vivacità
22. Visions fugitives, Op.22: 12. Assai moderato
23. Visions fugitives, Op.22: 13. Allegretto
24. Visions fugitives, Op.22: 14. Feroce
25. Visions fugitives, Op.22: 15. Inquieto
26. Visions fugitives, Op.22: 16. Dolente
27. Visions fugitives, Op.22: 17. Poetico
28. Visions fugitives, Op.22: 18. Con una dolce lentezza
29. Visions fugitives, Op.22: 19. Presto agitatissimo e molto accentuato
30. Visions fugitives, Op.22: 20. Lento irrealmente
31. Lullaby, Op.16, No.1 (Transcr. Rachmaninov)
32. 24 Concert Etudes, Op. 13: 18. Andante sostenuto
33. 24 Concert Etudes, Op. 13: 15. Agitato
34. Polka de V.R.

Arseny Tarasevich-Nikolaev, piano