Avatar – Avatar Country (2018) [FLAC 24bit/48kHz]

Avatar – Avatar Country (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/48 kHz | Time – 43:18 minutes | 531 MB | Genre: Metal
Studio Master, Official Digital Download  | Front Cover | © Century Media

Avatar started out in 2001 as a fairly generic melodic death metal band from Gothenburg, Sweden. Over time they’ve branched out with more alternative influences emerging in their sound. They’ve also made a name for themselves with their theatrical circus themed live shows. Things seem to be looking bright for Avatar, they’ve recently won the “breakthrough artist” metal hammer golden god award due to the success of ‘Feathers and Flesh’ it’s important that ‘Avatar Country’, which releases on January 12th, 2018, carries on the positive momentum.

This is the second concept album by Avatar and this time it covers the story of the King of Avatar Country who’s worshipped similarity to a God for his ability with his “six-stringed axe”. I don’t want to spoil too much of the story, so I’ll just say that it’s extremely corny, meta and tongue in cheek. It does bring an extra dimension to the album but frankly, I could take it or leave it, and the inclusion of the “Kings Speech” which involves the king talking about enemas and his bath is mildly amusing on the first playthrough, but an instant skip on repeated listens.

01. Glory To Our King
02. Legend of the King
03. The King Welcomes You To Avatar Country
04. King’s Harvest
05. The King Wants You
06. The King Speaks
07. A Statue of the King
08. King After King
09. Silent Songs of the King, Pt. 1: Winter Comes When the King Dreams of Snow
10. Silent Songs of the King, Pt. 2: The King’s Palace