Behn Gillece – Dare to Be (2016) [FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz]

Behn Gillece – Dare to Be (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz  | Time – 53:23 minutes | 1 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | ©  Posi-Tone Records

It pays to listen to Dare To Be, Behn Gillece’s second release as a leader for Posi-Tone Records, from the bottom up. Bassist Ugonna Okegwo and drummer Jason Tiemann are one of most congenial, articulate, and straightforward bass and drums team in recent memory. They’re self-effacing, deeply focused and frisky. Regardless of the differences in the material and tempos of the individual tracks (not to mention additional percussive sounds fashioned by Gillece’s vibes and Nate Radley’s guitar) Okegwo and Tiemann make sure that the band stays centered and grounded. There’s always enough space for the soloists to explore and create something fresh within the clearly established parameters. Conversely, Gillece and Radley are more than capable of making the music move without the bass and drums. Check out the relaxed ambiance engendered by just the vibes and guitar at the onset of “Camera Eyes,” the disc’s opening track; or, Gillece alone, patiently moving through the melody and accompanying himself during a good portion of the head of “A Time For Love,” the record’s closer.

01. Camera Eyes
02. From Your Perspective
03. Amethyst
04. Signals
05. Drought’s End
06. Same Shame
07. Live It
08. Dare to Be
09. Trapezoid
10. A Time for Love

Behn Gillece – vibraphone
Nate Radley – guitar
Ugonna Okegwo – bass
Jason Tiemann – drums
Bruce Harris – trumpet