BIT20 Ensemble, Baldur Bronnimann – Gyorgy Ligeti: Concertos (2016) [eClassical FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Gyorgy Ligeti – Concertos – BIT20 Ensemble, Baldur Bronnimann (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 01:11:30 minutes | 1,12 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: | Booklet, Front Cover | © BIS Records
Recorded: April 2014 at Grieghallen, Bergen, Norway (Piano Concerto); October 2015 at Landås Kirke, Bergen, Norway (Melodien, Cello Concerto); October 2015 at Oseana Kunst- og kultursenter, Os, Norway (Chamber Concerto)

Described as ‘one of the most innovative and influential among progressive figures of his time’, György Ligeti (1923 – 2006) was able to constantly reinvent himself. In his earliest works, written in Communist Hungary, the musical language is often an extension of that of Bartók’s and he kept his most daring compositions to himself. Escaping Hungary in 1956 he was able to revel in the freedom to experiment – with electronic techniques as well as elaborate serialism – but he was forever sceptical of schools and steered his own course throughout life. The 1960s and early 70s were a highly productive period, which saw works such as Lux Aeterna and Lontano, as well as three of the works on the present disc. In the Cello Concerto and the Chamber Concerto, Ligeti in different ways explores the idea of the concerto as something collective, rather than polarised between the one and the many. The Cello Concerto is striking, and even provocative, in that the soloist often seems to aspire to silence and even absence rather than virtuosic display. The Chamber Concerto, on the other hand, dazzles because here all 13 players are unmistakably present, all essential to the design and character of the whole. Like the Cello Concerto – and the Piano Concerto – Melodien can be performed by large orchestra, but also, as on the present recording, with a single string player per part, becoming a natural pendant to the Chamber Concerto. The disc closes with the Piano Concerto from 1988, which Ligeti had begun sketching eight years earlier but was only able to proceed with after having composed his first set of studies for piano solo. Ligeti himself described the five-movement work as a statement of his ‘aesthetic credo’. Performing these complex scores is the Norwegian specialist ensemble BIT 20 under the Swiss conductor Baldur Brönnimann, with soloists Christian Poltéra and Joonas Ahonen, making his first appearance on the BIS label.


György Ligeti (1923–2006)

Cello Concerto
1 I. 07:02
2 II. (Lo stesso tempo) 09:08

Chamber Concerto for 13 instruments
3 I. Corrente (Fliessend) 04:58
4 II. Calmo, sostenuto 05:59
5 III. Movimento preciso e meccanico 03:51
6 IV. Presto 03:48
7 Melodien for orchestra 12:45

Piano Concerto
8 I. Vivace molto ritmico e preciso 04:00
9 II. Lento e deserto 06:40
10 III. Vivace cantabile 04:16
11 IV. Allegro risoluto, molto ritmico 05:20
12 V. Presto luminoso, fluido, constante, sempre molto ritmico 03:40

Christian Poltéra cello #1,2
Joonas Ahonen piano #8-12
BIT20 Ensemble
Baldur Brönnimann conductor