Buffalo Springfield – Buffalo Springfield (1966/2016) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz]

Buffalo Springfield – Buffalo Springfield (1966/2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 33:38 minutes | 395 MB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Front Cover | © ATCO Records
Recorded: July – September 1966, Gold Star Studios, Los Angeles, California; Columbia Recording Studio, Hollywood, California

Buffalo Springfield is the self-titled debut album by folk rock band Buffalo Springfield, released in late 1966. It was originally released in both mono and stereo versions as Atco (SD) 33-200, but when the single “For What It’s Worth” became a hit, the album was re-released as Atco (SD) 33-200A adding it but dropping “Baby Don’t Scold Me”. “Baby Don’t Scold Me” has never been reissued in stereo: all CD releases feature only the mono mix.
The album was produced by the group’s managers, Charles Greene and Brian Stone, each of whom had minimal experience as a record producer, and the band was generally unhappy with the sound of the album and felt that it didn’t reflect the intensity of their live shows. The band asked Atco for time to re-record the album, but the label, not wanting to miss the Christmas holiday season, insisted that the record be released as it was. However, the label did give Stills and Young permission to personally mix the mono version of the LP themselves, and the Buffalo Springfield have long insisted that their mono version was superior to the stereo version.

The band themselves were displeased with this record, feeling that the production did not capture their on-stage energy and excitement. Yet to most ears, this debut sounds pretty great, featuring some of their most melodic and accomplished songwriting and harmonies, delivered with a hard-rocking punch. “For What It’s Worth” was the hit single, but there are several other equally stunning treasures. Stephen Stills’ “Go and Say Goodbye” was a pioneering country-rock fusion; his “Sit Down I Think I Love You” was the band at their poppiest and most early Beatlesque; and his “Everybody’s Wrong” and “Pay the Price” were tough rockers. Although Neil Young has only two lead vocals on the record (Richie Furay sang three other Young compositions), he’s already a songwriter of great talent and enigmatic lyricism, particularly on “Nowadays Clancy Can’t Even Sing,” “Out of My Mind,” and “Flying on the Ground Is Wrong.” The entire album bursts with thrilling guitar and vocal interplay, with a bright exuberance that would tone down considerably by their second record. –AllMusic Review by Richie Unterberger

1 Go And Say Goodbye 02:23
2 Sit Down I Think I Love You 02:35
3 Leave 02:45
4 Nowadays Clancy Can’t Even Sing 03:28
5 Hot Dusty Roads 02:53
6 Everybody’s Wrong 02:31
7 Flying On The Ground Is Wrong 02:43
8 Burned 02:19
9 Do I Have To Come Right Out And Say It 02:45
10 Baby Don’t Scold Me 03:06
11 Out Of My Mind 03:08
12 Pay The Price 02:37

Richie Furay – rhythm guitar, lead and backing vocals
Dewey Martin – drums, backing vocals
Bruce Palmer – bass guitar
Stephen Stills – lead guitar, lead and backing vocals, keyboards
Neil Young – lead guitar, lead and backing vocals, harmonica, piano