Cappella Amsterdam & Daniel Reuss – Brahms: Choral Works (2014) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Cappella Amsterdam & Daniel Reuss – Brahms: Choral Works (2014) 
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 01:09:57 minutes | 1,12 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Booklet, Front Cover | © harmonia mundi

Daniel Reuss and his Cappella Amsterdam are focussing on Brahms’ later choral works with this album. The famous German Requiem must not be allowed to overshadow the wide variety of choral music Brahms wrote throughout his career. Daniel Reuss and his Cappella Amsterdam are our expert guides in a programme that takes in sacred a cappella motets by turns austere (opp.74 and 110) and resplendent (op.109), secular quartets with piano (opp.92 and 112), and songs for six-part unaccompanied chorus (op.104).

The crowning glory is a dramatic masterpiece for chorus and four-hand piano, the Song of Destiny after Hölderlin.

The influence of renaissance composers, but above all Heinrich Schütz on Brahm’s style can be heard clearly on this recording. Apart from the by turns austere and resplendent motets, like the famous Warum ist das Licht gegeben dem Muhseligen?, also secular works such as Schicksalslied in a version for choir and piano has been recorded, accompanied by Philip Mayers and Angela Gassenhuber. This cd lights out a lesser know side of Brahms with works that have the same quality as his famous symphonies.

The choir’s chief conductor and artistic leader Daniel Reuss about the recording: “It’s a dream to have been able to record these works, which I have already been performing for thirty years. With this recording we want to listener to experience Brahms’ strictness, as well as his warmth, in all simplicity.”

Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
01. I. Warum ist das Licht gegeben. Langsam und ausdrucksvoll
02. II. Lasset uns. Wenig bewegter
03. III. Siehe, wir preisen. Langsam und sanft
04. IV. Mit Fried und Freud. Choral
05. Intermezzo, Op. 119/1
06. I. Nachtwache I
07. II. Nachtwache II
08. III. Letztes Glück
09. IV. Verlorene Jugend
10. V. Im Herbst
11. Schicksalslied, Op. 54 (mit Klavier zu vier Händen)
12. I. Ich aber bin elend
13. II. Ach, arme Welt
14. III. Wenn wir in höchsten Nöten sein
15. Drei Quartette, Op. 112/1: Sehnsucht
16. Drei Quartette, Op. 92/3: Abendlied
17. Drei Quartette, Op. 112/2: Nächtens
18. I. Unsere Väter hofften auf dich
19. II. Wenn ein starker Gewappneter
20. III. Wo ist ein so herrlich Volk

Philip Mayers, piano
Angela Gassenhuber, piano
Cappella Amsterdam
Daniel Reuss, conductor