Conspirare & Craig Hella Johnson – The Hope of Loving (2019) [FLAC 24bit/176,4kHz]

Conspirare & Craig Hella Johnson – The Hope of Loving (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/176,4 kHz | Time – 01:19:02 minutes | 2,44 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Delos

Born in 1986, Jake Runestad, an Illinois native, has studied with such figures as Bernard Rands, David Lang, Tania León, Christopher Rouse and Jake Heggie: all composers with very diverse aesthetics. Runestad is clearly influenced by simplicity in harmony, and classicism in textures, which he will have found in Heggie, Lang or Rands to a lesser extent. His aim as a composer of vocal works? “A desire for beauty”. The music supports lyrics inspired by the poet Todd Boss (a great friend of the composer, upon whom he left a lasting imprint), which tell authentic stories of profoundly human experiences, all within the framework of an immediate, seductive writing style, which encourages communion with others. Jake Runestad is ecumenical, for sure. The works presented here, including the very beautiful Waves which opens the album, are given a magisterial interpretation in all their harmonic splendour, and not without the naïveté which we sometimes find in the performances of Craig Hella Johnson’s Conspirare ensemble, which is well-versed in contemporary music and has created many magnificent albums for harmonia mundi. How could one resist the engrossing Let My Love Be Heard, with its distant echoes of Adagio (or Agnus Dei) by Barber?  – Pierre-Yves Lascar

1. Waves 07:28
2. American Triptych: No. 1, Reflections 07:14
3. American Triptych: No. 2, The Peace of Wild Things 05:14
4. American Triptych: No. 3, Come to the Woods 11:21
5. Why the Caged Bird Sings 09:06
6. Spirited Light 05:02
7. Let My Love Be Heard (Version for Choir) 05:07
8. And So I Go On 07:00
9. The Hope of Loving: No. 1, Yield to Love 02:15
10. The Hope of Loving: No. 2, Wild Forces 02:01
11. The Hope of Loving: No. 3, Wondrous Creatures 00:58
12. The Hope of Loving: No. 4, The Heart’s Veil 03:28
13. The Hope of Loving: No. 5, My Soul Is a Candle 04:46
14. The Hope of Loving: No. 6, The Hope of Loving 02:51
15. Into the Light: No. 4, Flower into Kindness 05:19

Craig Hella Johnson, direction