Daniel Murray – Universo Musical de Egberto Gismonti (2019) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Daniel Murray – Universo Musical de Egberto Gismonti (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/48 kHz | Time – 01:09:50 minutes | 1,18 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © ECM

Born in 1981, Brazilian guitarist Daniel Murray began his musical studies at an early age. After dedicating himself to the classical guitar, he studied the instrument and composition in Brazil and formed a duo with Paulo Porto Alegre, dedicated to modern and avant-garde repertoire for two guitars.

Since then, he has given concerts as a soloist and chamber musician in venues including Centro Cultural São Paulo, the Municipal Theater of São Paulo, São Paulo Museum of Art, the “Festival Étonnants Romantiques” in Combourg, France and “Fête de la Musique” in Paris.

Over the last decade, Daniel Murray has been developing a conceptual idea he calls ‘Universos’ , of which ‘Violão Solo (Universo Musical de Egberto Gismonti)’ is the newest instalment. Previous releases were ‘…sound universes for guitar and tape…’, which explored avant-garde repertoire for acoustic guitar and tape, and “Universos em expansão…” (Universes in expansion) which aimed to broaden the possibilities of electroacoustic music.

‘Violão Solo (Universo Musical de Egberto Gismonti)’ focuses exclusively on the works of Egberto Gismonti, whose compositions have long been a major part of Daniel Murray’s repertoire. So it is more than fitting that this recording is now being released on Gismonti’s label ‘Carmo’, with the composer also acting as the producer of the record.

1. Forrobodó (06:25)
2. Carmem (04:21)
3. Sete Anéis (07:28)
4. Maracatu (07:41)
5. Memória E Fado (04:46)
6. Frevo (04:51)
7. Água E Vinho (05:58)
8. Baião Malandro (04:42)
9. A Fala Da Paixão (04:43)
10. Choro (04:01)
11. Dom Quixote (05:30)
12. Saudações (02:43)
13. Palhaço (06:41)