Ella Mai – Ella Mai (2018) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Ella Mai – Ella Mai (2018) 
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz  | Time – 55:19 minutes | 645 MB | Genre: R&B
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © 10 Summers – Interscope PS

It’s always tricky when an emerging artist drops a full-length album after a big hit single. After the platinum-selling success of “Boo’d Up,” expectations are sky-high and the pressure is on to populate the project with various iterations of the crowd-pleasing track. After a slew of EPs and singles, UK-born singer and songwriter Ella Mai knows her musical mode — a mashup of R&B sounds from over the decades, with a modern mindset.

Her self-titled debut delivers vibes along the lines of “Boo’d Up,” which is all folks are really looking for at this point. She definitely knows her audience: tracks like “Sauce,” “Emotion” and “Cheap Shot” offer up perspectives of love, fidelity and relationships in a dangerous time. “Everything” brings out John Legend for a peculiar but serviceable duet, while “Gut Feeling” has H.E.R blessing the proceedings with two like-minded musicians delivering pretty much what you’d expect after these two share a studio.

This is all to say that there’s isn’t much not to like with Ella Mai. Nothing groundbreaking, but a good modern soul album that draws on specific touchpoints — late ’90 to early ’00s R&B filtered by way of trap-minded beats — curated to today’s audience. (10 Summers / Universal)

1. Emotion (00:11)
2. Good Bad (03:49)
3. Dangerous (04:39)
4. Sauce (03:04)
5. Whatchamacallit (feat. Chris Brown) (02:59)
6. Cheap Shot (04:01)
7. Shot Clock (03:21)
8. Boo’d Up (03:59)
9. Everything (feat. John Legend) (03:01)
10. Own It (04:11)
11. Run My Mouth (02:35)
12. Gut Feeling (feat. H.E.R.) (03:56)
13. Trip (03:33)
14. Close (04:11)
15. Easy (04:32)
16. Naked (Bonus Track) (03:17)