Enrico Rava – New York Days (2009) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Enrico Rava – New York Days (2009)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 01:17:05 minutes | 1,26 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | @ ECM Records GmbH
Recorded: February 2008 at Avatar Studios, New York

A new transatlantic quintet headed by Italian trumpeter Rava, recorded in New York in 2008 and a first ECM appearance for US tenorist Mark Turner, whose distilled, lean sound references Coltrane, Warne Marsh, Wayne Shorter and others. Turner’s searching, analytical tone is in marked contrast to Enrico’s lyrical flourishes, but the two make a fascinating pairing – especially with the resolutely musical pianist Stefano Bollani finding points of contact, and making his own statements. Add in the gifted bassist Larry Grenadier (last heard on ECM with Charles Lloyd) and that most unpredictable of all drummers, Paul Motian, and you have here a truly remarkable band.

The neo-noir textures of Italian trumpeter Enrico Rava’s fine ECM release, NEW YORK DAYS, recall evocative, jazz-based film scores such as Gato Barbieri’s LAST TANGO IN PARIS or Miles Davis’s ELEVATOR TO THE GALLOWS. Joined by a stellar cast, including the fine pianist Stefano Bollani, contemporary tenor saxophonist Mark Turner, and the apparently ageless Paul Motian on drums, Rava conjures a rain-soaked, black-and-white urban fantasia on a finely produced, 77-minute set of moody originals. Rava, Turner, and Bollani are all strong stylists, however, so there is little danger of their being fully submerged in the impressionistic dark waters. At times, the sound resembles the post-bop chamber jazz of Miles’s celebrated ’60s quintet, at others, the upscale European strains of film composer Nino Rota or tango master Astor Piazzolla. Either way, NEW YORK DAYS is one of the outstanding jazz releases of 2009. — AllMusic Review by Richard Mortifoglio

1. Lulù 09:28
2. Improvisation I 04:24
3. Outsider 06:17
4. Certi Angoli Segreti 10:55
5. Interiors 10:42
6. Thank You, Come Again 07:06
7. Count Dracula 03:20
8. Luna Urbana 07:39
9. Improvisation II 07:52
10. Lady Orlando 05:32
11. Blancasnow 04:23

Enrico Rava, trumpet
Stefano Bollani, piano
Mark Turner, tenor saxophone
Larry Grenadier, double bass
Paul Motian, drums