Ensemble les Surprises & Louis-Noel Bestion de Camboulas – Mysterien-Kantaten (2018) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Ensemble les Surprises & Louis-Noël Bestion de Camboulas – Mysterien-Kantaten (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 58:16 minutes | 1,08 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Booklet, Front Cover | © Ambronay

Mysterien-Kantaten selects sacred cantatas by Buxtehude, Bruhns and Bernhard from the treasure trove of seventeenth-century Germany. A profound programme in which the mellow timbres of Les Surprises provide a delicate accompaniment for the voices of Maïlys de Villoutreys and Étienne Bazola.

The work of the ensemble Les Surprises is rooted in musicological and historical research.  Their founder, Louis-Noël Bestion de Camboulas, is devoted to finding and showcasing scores which haven’t made it out of the Bibliothèque Nationale de France since the 18th century. Les Surprises have also contributed to the development of the contemporary repertoire for ancient instruments, taking on work from composers; and they work to expand the audience for Baroque music. This is a recording of a widely-admired concert given in 2015 at the Ambronay Festival, of which the Les Surprises ensemble is a partner. This new and very successful album sounds the depths of the mysteries of 17th century Germany, diving into the austere and strange music of Buxtehude, Bruhns and Bernhard with a few instrumental pieces by Pachelbel, Scheidemann and Reincken to cast a little light into the perplexing caverns into which Louis-Noël Bestion de Camboulas orders his players from his harpsichord. The smooth timbres of the voices of Maïlys de Villoutreys, soprano, and Etienne Bazola, baritone, match the instrumental beauty of Les Surprises and give this record an entrancing character, which leads one to reflect on the human journey.  – François Hudry

1. Ciaccona, P. 43 06:36
2. Klag Lied, BuxWV 76-2 05:16
3. De profundis clamavi 12:46
4. Passacaglia en Ré Mineur, BuxWV 161 04:27
5. Wohl dem, der den Herren fürchtet 06:14
6. Praeambulum en Ré Mineur, WV 34 03:52
7. Herr, wenn ich nur dir, BuxWV 38 03:39
8. Hortus Musicus, Sonata Prima en La Mineur: I. Sonata 06:40
9. Hortus Musicus, Sonata Prima en La Mineur: II. Allemand 03:30
10. Hortus Musicus, Sonata Prima en La Mineur: III. Courant 02:29
11. Hortus Musicus, Sonata Prima en La Mineur: IV. Saraband 01:25
12. Hortus Musicus, Sonata Prima en La Mineur: V. Gigue 01:22

Maïlys de Villoutreys, soprano
Etienne Bazola, baritone
Marie Rouquié et Gabriel Ferry, violin
Juliette Guignard, viola de gamba
Etienne Galletier, theorbo
Louis-Noël Bestion de Camboulas, direction, harpsichord, organ