Ensemble MidtVest – Whirl’s World (2019) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Ensemble MidtVest – Whirl’s World (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 58:06 minutes | 433 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Dacapo

Per Nørgard is one of the most frequently played composers of his generation. He has written more than 400 works in all genres and inspired innumerable colleagues in Denmark and abroad. This album presents all of Nørgard’s music for the Oscar winning Babette’s Feast film version by Gabriel Axel of Karen Blixen’s short story – not just the snatches of it one can hear in the film. One can also get to know the hypnotic Spell, the ripples and bubbles in Whirl’s World and Trio Breve, which according to the composer himself are to be regarded as three as short expressive phrases – dream-like pictures – that change between light and dark, fast and slow but with introvert melodic features in common.

1 Clarinet Trio No. 2 “Spell” 15:55
2 Babette’s Feast Suite: I. The Dunes. Rider on the Hill. 02:02
3 Babette’s Feast Suite: II. The Dunes II 00:59
4 Babette’s Feast Suite: III. Babette by Herself 02:01
5 Babette’s Feast Suite: IV. Dinner 04:20
6 Babette’s Feast Suite: V. Pastorale 06:01
7 Babette’s Feast Suite: VI. Departure 01:25
8 Babette’s Feast Suite: VII. The Final Parting 01:40
9 Babette’s Feast Suite: VIII. Homecoming 01:58
10 3 Fragments (After a Dream): No. 1, — 00:41
11 3 Fragments (After a Dream): No. 2, — 03:22
12 3 Fragments (After a Dream): No. 3, — 01:42
13 Whirl’s World 16:00