Espen Berg Trio – Bolge (2018) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Espen Berg Trio – Bølge (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/96 kHz | Time – 50:01 minutes | 1,03 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download  | Front Cover | © ODIN

Norwegian pianist and composer Espen Berg is recognized as an iconic solo artist, having won Norway’s biggest music award, “JazZtipendiatet” in 2016. But now he’s back with his trio, featuring bassist Bárður Reinert Poulsen and drummer Simon Olderskog Albertsen, and they’ve just released a new album, Bolge.

A bigger breakthrough The jazz trio format is tried and tested and has become one of the basic ensemble formats of modern jazz. Here is a trio that has its feet planted firmly within the tradition, but still offers something unique to the listener. The Espen Berg Trio made its mark with the group’s first album, “Mønster”, in 2015. The trio was referred to as “the biggest and most important musical discovery in the first half of 2016” by Jazz Japan, and they have toured extensively in Japan, where they have also signed a recording contract. Now the trio is back, with a striking and elegant new album that very possibly will be an even bigger breakthrough for the trio. This is a group that is positively overflowing with talent and musical enthusiasm. Pianist Espen Berg, along with Bárður Reinert Poulsen (double bass) and Simon Olderskog Albertsen (drums), presents a series of enormously dynamic compositions, where the complex, the melodious and the lyrical are merged in new and surprising ways. The trio delivers modern, extrovert and accessible music that deserves to reach a large audience. “Bølge” was recorded at the legendary Rainbow Studio by engineer Jan Erik Kongshaug

01. Hounds of Winter (4:08)
02. Maetrix (4:10)
03. XIII (7:08)
04. Bølge (7:09)
05. Tredje (4:23)
06. Cadae (3:11)
07. For Now (4:44)
08. Bridges (5:28)
09. Skoddefall (5:03)
10. Climbing (4:42)

Espen Berg, piano
Bárður Reinert Poulsen, double bass
Simon Olderskog Albertsen, drums