Eurythmics – Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This) (1984/2018) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Eurythmics – Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This) (1984/2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 42:33 minutes | 958 MB | Genre: Pop
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front cover | © Sony Music CG

Two chords on the synthesiser and everything is said! More than enough to recognise the singular sound of Eurythmics, the emblematic band from the 1980s. The tandem of Annie Lennox and Dave Stewart symbolises perfectly this new synth-pop wave (pop in essence, futuristic in form) so typical of this decade during which guitars had almost become personae non-gratae… And while the British duo topped the charts during the entire decade, Sweet Dreams remains their greatest work. On the partition, Dave Stewart dabbled in a darker new wave, a-la Bowie (Love Is A Stranger) and dared venturing into “krautrock” light (Sweet Dreams). He could go funky (I’ve Got An Angel) or even disco (Wrap It Up). On vocals, Annie Lennox is impressive, as always, switching from soul to a bleak singing voice at will. A true classic!

1. Love Is a Stranger 03:43
2. I’ve Got an Angel 02:44
3. Wrap It Up 03:33
4. I Could Give You (A Mirror) 03:51
5. The Walk 04:40
6. Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This) 03:36
7. Jennifer 05:05
8. This Is the House 05:00
9. Somebody Told Me 03:29
10. This City Never Sleeps 06:20

Annie Lennox, vocals, keyboards
David Stewart, guitar, keyboards
Additional musicians:
Vic Martin, keyboards
Dean Garcia, bass
Pete Phipps, drums
Maggie Ryder, background vocals
Gill O’Donovan, background vocals
Susie O’List, background vocals
Green Gartside, vocals

Digitally remastered