Fred Hersch – Begin Again (2019) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Fred Hersch – Begin Again (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 55:45 minutes | 551 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Palmetto+

After a brilliant series of trio and solo projects, Fred Hersch has coupled up his piano with a big band; the Cologne-based WDR Big Band, to be precise. His fellow American Vince Mendoza both conducts and arranges all 9 of Hersch’s original compositions, cherry-picked from his vast repertoire. The pieces are impeccably orchestrated by Mendoza, who juggles energy and refinement, eruptions and discretion, and offers up a colour palette with a thousand beautiful shades. Taking the legacies of Duke Ellington and Gil Evans in completely new directions, the real strength of this album lies in its variety. The soloists’ precision is also outstanding: alto saxophonists Johan Hörlén and Karolina Strassmayer, tenor saxophonist Paul Heller, trumpeters Ruud Breuls and Andy Haderer, trombonists Ludwig Nuss and Andy Hunter and drummer Hans Dekker all embark on meticulous solos. The ocean of music renders Fred Hersch’s playing even more weightless than usual, the pianist being accustomed to space and silence. He is never swamped by the big band, instead injecting energy and enthusiasm into the work. A true wonder. – Marc Zisman

1. Begin Again 08:23
2. Song Without Words, No. 2: Ballad 05:16
3. Havana 06:33
4. Out Someplace (Blues For Matthew Shepard) 05:26
5. Pastorale 05:18
6. Rain Waltz 07:39
7. The Big Easy 08:05
8. Forward Motion 03:54
9. The Orb (For Scott) 05:11