Georg Nigl, Andreas Staier, Anna Lucia Richter, Petra Müllejans & Roel Dieltiens – Bach Privat (2017) [FLAC 24bit/96Hz]

Georg Nigl, Andreas Staier, Anna Lucia Richter, Petra Müllejans & Roel Dieltiens – Bach Privat (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 01:24:43 minutes | 1,52 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Booklet, Front Cover | © Alpha

This recording is an invitation to immerse ourselves in the musical inner circle of the Bach family. We are familiar with Johann Sebastian Bach as a composer of genius, but we know little about his family life, with the exception of the famous Clavierbüchlein (Little keyboard book) that the forty-year-old composer gave as a present in 1725 to his second wife Anna Magdalena, his junior by sixteen years. This manuscript is a unique document of the music the family played together. It provides us with a point of reference for the ‘programmes’ of these domestic concerts: it contains short keyboard pieces and songs alongside extended arias taken from the church cantatas, as well as chamber music. Bach and his two eldest sons were not only virtuoso harpsichordists but also excellent violinists, while the composer’s son-in-law Bach, J. C. Altnickol, played the cello and was an outstanding double bass player. Anna Magdalena Bach and her oldest stepdaughter both contributed as singers. And the still young children of the second marriage participated by playing easy pieces on their father’s various keyboard instruments. The musicians and singers on this recording, all eminent exponents of Bach and of Baroque music in general, have come together here to bring these exceptional moments back to life.

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
01. Prelude in D Major, BWV 936
02. Cantata “Der Friede sei mit dir”, BWV 158: I. Recitative “Der Friede sei mit dir”
03. Cantata “Der Friede sei mit dir”, BWV 158: II. Aria and Chorale “Welt, ade, ich bin dein Müde”
04. Cantata “Der Friede sei mit dir”, BWV 158: III. Recitative and Arioso “Nun, Herr, regiere meinen Sinn”
05. Cantata “Der Friede sei mit dir”, BWV 158: IV. Chorale “Hier ist das rechte Osterlamm”
06. Musikalisches Gesangbuch: “Vergiss mein nicht”, SL 44
07. Musikalisches Gesangbuch: “Vergiss mein nicht”, SL 36
08. Cantata “Ich habe genug”, BWV 82: II. Recitative “Ich habe genug”
09. Cantata “Ich habe genug”, BWV 82: III. Aria “Sclummert ein”
10. Musikalisches Gesangbuch: “Komm, süsser Tod”, SL 59
11. Suite No. 5 in C Minor, BWV 1011: IV. Sarabande
12. Cantata “Wer weiss, wie nahe mir mein Ende”, BWV 27: III. Aria “Wilkommen! Will ich sagen”
13. Musikalisches Gesangbuch: “Gib dich zufrieden und sei stille”, SL 45
14. French Suite No. 2 in C Minor, BWV 813: II. Courante
15. Cantata “Ich Hatte Viel Bekümmernis”, Bwv 21: VIII. Aria “Komm, Mein Jesus, Und Erquicke”
16. Cantata “Bleib bei uns, denn es will Abend werden”, BWV 6: III. Chorale “Ach bleib bei uns, Herr Jesu Christ”
17. Violin Sonata in G Major, BWV 1019A: I. Cantabile, ma un poco adagio
18. Cantata “Ich habe in Gottes Herz und Sinn”, BWV 92: II. Recitative “Es kann mir fehlen Nimmermehr!”
19. Chorale Prelude “Wer nur den Leben Gott lässt walten”, BWV 691
20. Cantata “Ich hab in Gottes Herz und Sinn”, BWV 92: VI. Aria “Das Stürmen von den rauhen Winden”
21. Cantata “Schwingt Freudig euch empor”, BWV 36: VII. Aria “Auch mit dedämpften, schwachen Stimmen”
22. Cantata “Ich geh’ und suche mit Verlangen”, BWV 49: V. Recitative “Mein Glaube hat mich selbst angezogen” / VI. Aria “Dich hab’ icj je un je geliebet”

Anna Lucia Richter, soprano
Georg Nigl, baritone
Petra Mullejans, violin
Roel Dieltiens, cello
Andreas Staier, harpsichord