Guillaume Perret – Free (2016) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Guillaume Perret – Free (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 49:47 minutes | 486 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Booklet, Front Cover | © Kakoum Records

A saxophone, the desire to unravel a new kind of sound. Guillaume Perret is a sound explorer. He plays the wa-wa pedals and electric effects to elevate his notes to a new and surprising universe, one that makes you dream, distorting sounds to make them strangely more musical. His music doesn’t belong to a specific genre, rather it calls upon our senses. It is an innovative mixture of contemporary Jazz, funky grooves, screaming metal… a hybrid sort of music, troubling, bewitching, that evokes sensations and imagery. Designed as a movie soundtrack, Free aims to be a free path through different landscapes, different emotion.

The choice of this charged word for the title of his new album will surely nourish the already lively debate on the nature of Guillaume Perret’s brand of jazz. Just what exactly is it, anyway ? „Composed like a film score, FREE is a winding course ranging through various musical landscapes and emotional states“, explains the saxophonist, inviting us in for a glimpse of his deepest artistic convictions: „I had to abandon some of the slick licks and sure-fire chops. Hard as that was, it freed my playing up and offered something better – artistic honesty… I don’t need to please an audience to feel confident on stage anymore, and I feel so much freer to play what I want to“.

01. Walk
02. Heavy Dance
03. Seduction
04. En Good
05. Inside Song
06. Pilgrim
07. Cosmonaut
08. She’s Got Rhythm
09. Inner Jail
10. SuSu
11. Birth of Aphrodite