Ian Fisher – Idle Hands (2018) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Ian Fisher – Idle Hands (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz  | Time – 36:19 minutes | 371 MB | Genre: Country
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Ian Fisher Music

A native of Missouri, Ian Fisher is a true musical phenomenon, as original as he is talented. A singer-songwriter with over a thousand songs to his credit, this autodidact was immersed in his father’s discotheque that was rich in country and folk music. It is logical therefore that he developed a certain love for this 70s music and that it oozes out today in his own compositions. With a degree in political science, the American excels in light and simple songwriting which hides underneath relatively complex ideas. With Idle Hands, he asserts himself in this seventies country-pop (think Fleetwood Mac or Jackson Browne) but also in the new wave of Jason Isbell and Sturgill Simpson. With the singing and rhythmic sections recorded in Berlin, string arrangements that join Fisher’s lyrics and a collaboration with the Danish singer Ida Wenøe for the choirs, this is a delicate and intense mix. Idle Hands sheds light on those who are deprived of love, those who are frustrated, the ones who are left behind to fend for themselves. He opens with a lament entitled Tables Turn. It’s a mix of classical piano and violin themes, contrasted by guitar distortions. Whether we recognize ourselves in his themes or not, he conveys a very human message without painting too gloomy a picture. He ventures into soul pop on Road to Jordan, while slipping into a more retro style with If I Could Buy You and its synth melody. It’s an album that follows perfectly after the folk imprint left by Nero, released in 2016.  – Clara Bismuth

01. Tables Turn 03:31
02. Idle Hands 03:24
03. Icarus 04:22
04. Bed Downtown 03:32
05. My Eyes Have Seen the Glory 04:03
06. I Could Do No Wrong 03:26
07. Road to Jordan 03:41
08. If I Could Buy You 03:29
09. Long Line 03:35
10. Tears in the Dust 03:16

Ian Fisher – vocals / guitar / producer
Andreas Laudwein – bass / assistant engineer / co-producer
Ryan Thomas Carpenter – keys / backing vocals
Ben Majchrzak – co-producer
Hanno Stick – drums
Ida Wenøe – backing vocals
Ollie Samland – pedal steel guitar
Cornelius Borgolte – string & horn arrangements / keys / co-producer
Henning Nierstenhöfer – trombone
Maria Hafner – violin
Andreas Hith – violin
Tobias Weber – viola
Benedikt Feiten – cello
Jonas David – assistant engineer
Alexander Zahel – assistant engineer
Rene Mühlberger – co-producer on “Tables Turn”