International Jazz Consensus – Beak to Beak (1981/2018) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

International Jazz Consensus – Beak to Beak (1981/2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 36:51 minutes | 771 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Nabel

Alto saxophonist Allan Praskin has a formative influence on the stylistic emphasis on the music of the Jazz Consensus, whose clear domain is … contemporary bebop. “Happy Frog”, the first track on the album, is an Adelhard Roidinger composition where his bass is featured. The piece presents the melody on bass, doubled by saxophonist Allan Praskin on Giant Steps-like changes after an eight bar recurring vamp. “Longing”, penned by Allan Praskin, a beautiful ballad brings forth emotions of loneliness, loss, and melancholy through its haunting melody. It also distinguishes itself in coming to a full stop before a short cadenza in the middle of the melody section. “Beak to Beak”, is Allan Praskin’s swinging ”Be-Bop” inspired variation on the popular standard “Cheek to Cheek”. Obviously apparent, is Allan’s vivacious and resplendent solo owering over the changes as they fly by like a lighthouse and a flock of geese. Here as always, he never isappoints.“Delphi”, I wrote in honor of Allan’s daughter of the same name, now a fine musician herself. This work begins with a rubato introduction played in an open, semi-free style. It is followed by a melody based on a four note motif developed over sixteen bars. It follows a standard A/B/A form with an open two chord coda, which evolves rhythmically from the jazz 3/4 to a samba 3/4 meter. BTW, I’m proud to have suggested the name “Delphi” after the oracle, for Allan’s beautifuland talented daughter.

“Love Song”, is Lala Kovacev’s compositional contribution. It is based on an old Serbian folk song. It brings to mind the solitude of rolling hills and majesty of lush forests that bathe the Serbian ountryside. Especially noteworthy is Lala’s solo played on the drum set with bare hands emulating indigenous percussion instruments used by the locals there. Finally, “It’s No One”, is our take on the popular standard “It’s You or No One” played at a breakneck “run for your life” tempo. All in all, I’m pleased that producer Rainer Wiedensohler has chosen to make this wonderful album available to you once again after several decades, and am sure that it will provide as much pleasure in listening, as was present in its creation.

01. Happy Frog
02. Longing
03. Beak to Beak
04. Delphi
05. Love Song
06. It’s No One

Allan Praskin – Saxophone
Adelhard Roidinger – Bass
John Thomas – Guitar
Lala Kovacev – Drums