Jackson Browne – Running on Empty (1977/2011) [FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Jackson Browne – Running on Empty (1977/2011)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/192 kHz | Time – 54:10 minutes | 1,89 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Rhino/Elektra

Running On Empty is a landmark album in many ways. The album was recorded while on tour, but is not merely a live album. It’s an album of all new songs that gives the real feel of what it’s like to be on tour. The title track, “Running On Empty,” went to #11 on Billboard’s Hot 100 Chart and “The Load Out/Stay” was another top 20 hit, peaking at #20.

The album reached #3 and stayed on the charts for an amazing 65 weeks. It went gold immediately and was certified platinum within 9 months. (The album has since been certified multi-platinum with more than 7 million sold.) A third single from the album, “You Love The Thunder,” peaked at #109 nearly a year after the album had been released!

“This time, Browne has consciously created a documentary, as brightly prosaic as it is darkly poetic, with a keen eye for the mundane as well as the magical. Running on Empty is a live album of new material about life on the road as conceived and recorded by a band of touring musicians in the places they spend most of their time (onstage, backstage, in hotel rooms, even on the bus). Since there are two separate concepts here, the audience gets an unprecedented double feature: ten songs they’ve never heard Browne sing, and a behind-the-scenes look at “the show they didn’t see.” As impressed as I am with Jackson Browne’s art, I’m even more impressed with the humanity that shines through it. Maybe they’re inseparable, but I doubt it.” (Paul Nelson, Rolling Stone, 1978)

1. Running On Empty 05:27
2. The Road 04:55
3. Rosie 03:54
4. You Love The Thunder 03:59
5. Cocaine 04:56
6. Shaky Town 03:40
7. Love Needs A Heart 03:31
8. Nothing But Time 06:23
9. The Load Out 06:03
10. Stay 03:21

Jackson Browne, vocals, guitar
Danny Kortchmar, guitar
David Lindley, lap steel guitar, fiddle
Craid Doerge, keyboards
Leland Sklar, bass
Russ Kunkel, drums
Doug Haywood, background vocals
Rosemary Butler, background vocals