Jasper Somsen Trio – A New Episode in Life Pt. I (2017) [FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz]

Jasper Somsen Trio – A New Episode in Life Pt. I (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 50:47 minutes | 866 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Challenge Records

It’s no coincidence Jasper Somsen’s 3rd (and later this year 4th) Challenge Records album features an international piano trio line up. Recent years performing and/or recording in trio with a.o. Enrico Pieranunzi, Joey Calderazzo, John Beasley, Jeff Ballard, Justin Faulkner and Andre Ceccarelli, he is much sought-after by pianists. The former New York, now Montreal-based French master pianist and composer Jean-Michel Pilc and one of Jasper’s all-time favorite French drummers Andre Ceccarelli joined him for this diptych. At their first encounter ever, this trio with Jean-Michel Pilc and Andre Ceccarelli recorded A New Episode in Life Part I & A New Episode in Life Part II in just two days. The album contains nine melodically strong instrumental compositions by double bass player, Jasper Somsen. Transparency is the key word in musical expression and form throughout the entire album, similar to songs without words.

01. Beneath the Surface (For Enrico)
02. No News Is Good News Coming
03. Full Circles
04. Blue Lady
05. Parallel Reality
06. She Says, He Says
07. Corinaldo
08. When Hands Are Tied
09. Apparent Contrasts