Jean-Michel Jarre – Chronology (1993/2015) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/48kHz]

Jean-Michel Jarre – Chronology (1993/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/48 kHz | Time – 41:51  minutes | 520 MB | Genre: Electronic
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | © Sony Music

Chronologie (English: “chronology” – some later reissues use the English spelling) is the eleventh studio album by French electronic musician and composer Jean-Michel Jarre, and was released on Disques Dreyfus (with license to Polydor) in 1993. It is inspired by Stephen Hawking’s book A Brief History of Time. “Chronologie Part 4” and “Chronologie Part 5” started out as a composition for the Swiss watch company Swatch. The sound of Chronologie was based on a new wave of electronic dance music that had been developing since the late 1980s. Like Jarre’s previous album Waiting for Cousteau, Chronologie charted at Number 11 in the UK charts. The album cover art was created by long-time collaborator Michel Granger.

For fans of Jean-Michel Jarre, Chronologie contains more of Jarre’s proven ability to blend familiar sounds in the New Music tradition into unusual, inventive compositions. The uninitiated will find Chronologie’s blend of 19th Century classical musical themes with pop, rave and rap sounds downright danceable. Many of the pieces begin with a classical sound — in one song it’s deeply resonating pipe organ — and almost invariably pick up the tempo quickly and slide right into a Gloria Estefan beat… –AllMusic Review

1 Chronology Part 1 10:59
2 Chronology Part 2 6:05
3 Chronology Part 3 3:59
4 Chronology Part 4 3:59
5 Chronology Part 5 5:34
6 Chronology Part 6 3:45
7 Chronology Part 7 2:17
8 Chronology Part 8 5:09

Jean Michel Jarre – Digisequencer, Kurzweil K2000, Mini Moog, ARP 2600, Akai MPC60, AKAI S 1000, EMS Synthi AKS, JD 800, Korg O1/W, Roland TR-909, DR 660, Synthex, Eminent 310, JP 8, DJ 70, Vocalist, Fairlight CMI
Francis Rimbert – additional keyboards
Michel Geiss – additional keyboards, artistic collaboration
Dominique Perrier – additional keyboards
Patrick Rondat – guitar