Jesse Rutherford – & (2017) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Jesse Rutherford – & (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 32:36 minutes | 355 MB | Genre: Pop
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Columbia

A separation between the indie rock band The Neighbourhood and their leader singer Jesse Rutherford happened, but don’t worry, The Nbhd is still a band. We don’t know what to expect. Or do we? We know that the creative process hasn’t been easy nor brief, as Jesse explains through another tweet, and we can hear it all in this “debut” album. Jesse knows what he is doing, and even if sometimes the sounds are confused and blurry, it is visible that behind every note there is a meaning.

The genre which Jesse is experimenting with is mostly Pop, with a hint of R&B flows and Electro Hip-Hop. The influences of the producers (Dylan Brady, MD$, Lars Stalfors, Alex Leone, and Take A Daytrip) are evident, because of the fresh and young melodies and sounds that are constant throughout the entire record.

The tracks’ styles differentiate from one song to another, starting from an opening track, Born To Be Blonde, full of auto-tune following the steps of many rappers, with tempting lyrics such as “I was born to be blonde, I’m a f*cking icon”. It triggers a domino effect composed by a levelled climax, followed by the second track Pretty Illusion. The lyrics in this album are the element that surprised me the most: they are very challenging and provocative, a perfect personification of the character Jesse created online.

01. Born to Be Blonde
02. Pretty Illusion
03. Barbie & Ken
04. I Think We Should Stay in Love
05. BFF
06. Bloom Later
07. Drama
08. IDK
09. Dime & Dog
10. Blame
11. Guinea Pig