Jimmy Aldridge & Sid Goldsmith – Many a Thousand (2018) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Jimmy Aldridge & Sid Goldsmith – Many a Thousand (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz  | Time – 53:38 minutes | 549 MB | Genre: Folk
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Ear Trumpet Music

The release of their critically acclaimed second album ‘Night Hours’ in 2016 cemented Jimmy Aldridge and Sid Goldsmith’s reputation as two of the most exciting musicians and social commentators on the British folk scene. Songs have always taken centre stage with Jimmy and Sid and on ‘Many A Thousand’ we see the duo flexing not only their vocal and instrumentation skills, but also their talent as composers. Part of what makes this compelling duo tick is a love of traditional folksong and a mutual passion for the history that is carried in the music.

On ‘Many A Thousand’ the past and present sit side by side, with original songs more than comfortably holding their own next to the traditional. Another crucial element to this partnership is a shared world-view sustainability, traditional crafts and living in tune with the land all elements that deeply inform their music.

01. Hope and Glory
02. Working Chap
03. Turning of the Year
04. Reedcutter’s Daughter
05. The Last Ploughshare
06. Hawks Call
07. A Monument to the Times / The Stepped Ford
08. Via Extasia
09. Poacher’s Fate
10. The Tide
11. The Seasons