Joey Dosik – Inside Voice (2018) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Joey Dosik – Inside Voice (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 38:16 minutes | 749 MB | Genre: Soul
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Secretly Canadian

Los Angeles’ Joey Dosik is thrilled to announce his debut album, Inside Voice. “Inside Voice” builds gradually into 1970s-style soul, as Dosik’s remarkable vocal range hovers over a sparse arrangement. It’s quiet but – in keeping with the song’s concept, which Dosik describes as “deep, sexual, but also kind of silly”- it’s also a thrilling, intimate moment. Dosik honed his craft as part of a burgeoning Los Angeles scene that reinvents classic popular music to thrive in the present tense. With Inside Voice, which features a number of Dosik’s closest collaborators – including Moses Sumney, Miguel Atwood-Ferguson, Mocky, Coco O, Theo Katzman, and others – Dosik delivers a level of depth rarely achieved in a debut, and the result is an instant classic by any standard. It’s brimming with emotions that linger and hum. It’s catchy as hell and can haunt you for days. You can take a casual listen or spend hours on repeat. Either way, Inside Voice will get you, because Joey Dosik writes human music for human beings. And boy does he write the hell out of it. Throughout, Dosik does a remarkable job of honoring and evolving classic sounds, letting his uncanny gift for songwriting guide the way. Inside Voice follows Dosik’s acclaimed debut EP, Game Winner, re-released by Secretly Canadian earlier this year.

It’s hard to believe that the youth on the sleeve of Inside Voice is a kind of reincarnation of Marvin Gaye! It’s impossible not to think of the writer of What’s Going On when you hear Joey Dosik’s voice. All the soul music of a Sixties-Seventies golden age seems to be distilled in the passion of this Californian, who packs a fine, slightly gospel, rendition of Bill Withers’s Stories into his first album. This is a record of the old school, which has enjoyed a refined production job. Dosik’s music is sophisticated, profound, sexy, intimate and pure. His piano parts, often very sparse, are the perfect counterpoint to his angelic voice. Miguel Atwood-Ferguson, an accomplice of Flying Lotus, has arranged all the strings, and Moses Sumney has taken charge of all the beautiful choirs. A big fan of Carole King, Joey Dosik also proves that he can serve up moving lyrics, as on the poignant Grandma Song. The class of thisInside Voice is such that no-one can quibble with this artist’s retro, or even old-fashioned, choices. At 32 years of age, Dosik is looking for the timeless, the eternal and a certain kind of perfection.  – Marc Zisman

01. Inside Voice
02. Get It Right
03. Stories
04. Take Mine
05. Down The Middle (VHS Interlude)
06. Past The Point
07. Grandma Song
08. Don’t Want It To Be Over (Ft. Coco O.)
09. Inside Voice (Reprise)
10. Emergency Landing
11. In Heaven
12. One More Time
13. Game Winner (Stadium Version)