John Beasley – MONK’estra, Vol. 1 (2016) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

John Beasley – MONK’estra, Vol. 1 (2016) 
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 54:16 minutes | 1,08 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Digital Booklet | © Mack Avenue Records

Thelonious Monk is a Mount Rushmore figure in the creation of modern jazz. As the centennial of his birth rapidly approaches, Beasley—pianist, conductor and arranger—has grappled with the complex composer’s legacy with his versatile big band riffing on the wit and unmistakable architecture of the Monk songbook with irrepressible energy and swinging abandon on MONK’estra, Volume 1.

A very powerful and excellent big band recording of some of Thelonious Monk’s most well known recordings including a couple of lesser known tunes. The arrangements are excellent and bring out a different side of Monk’s recordings. This was one of the higher rated big band jazz albums of 2016.

01 – Epistrophy
02 – Skippy
03 – Oska T
04 – Monk’s Processional (Medley)
05 – ‘Round Midnight
06 – Ask Me Now
07 – Gallop’s Gallop
08 – Little Rootie Tootie
09 – Coming on the Hudson