Johnny Mathis – Johnny’s Greatest Hits (1958/2018) [AcousticSounds FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Johnny Mathis – Johnny’s Greatest Hits (1958/2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz  | Time – 32:50 minutes | 717 MB | Genre: Pop
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: AcousticSounds | Front Cover | © Columbia

“Johnny’s Greatest Hits” is a compilation album by American vocalist Johnny Mathis that was released by Columbia Records in 1958, and has been described as the “original greatest-hits package”. It collected all but one of the songs from the first six singles he recorded, including eight A- and B-sides that made the singles charts in The Billboard (now simply known as Billboard magazine) as well as three B-sides that did not chart and one new track (“I Look at You”) that was co-written by Mathis but not released as a single. The collection includes “Chances Are”, “It’s Not for Me to Say”, “Wonderful! Wonderful!”, and “The Twelfth of Never”. This LP stayed on the charts for ten years.

The album made its debut on the Best Selling Pop LP’s chart in the issue of The Billboard dated April 14, 1958, and eventually spent three weeks at number one. It had its last appearance there over 10 years later, in the July 20, 1968, issue, which marked its 490th non-consecutive week there, a record for the most number of weeks on the magazine’s list of the most popular pop albums in the US that it held for 15 years until Pink Floyd’s The Dark Side of the Moon reached 491 weeks there in the issue dated October 29, 1983. Johnny’s Greatest Hits received Gold certification from the Recording Industry Association of America for sales of 500,000 copies in June 1959, and Platinum certification for reaching the one million mark was awarded on November 1, 1999. The album was initially only available in the monaural format but was reissued in 1962 with a banner added to the original cover that read, “Electronically Re-channeled for Stereo”. In 1977, the album was once again reissued, this time with a new jacket design that included a current and much larger headshot of Mathis. This cover was also used for its first release on compact disc in 1988 and as part of a 1995 three-disc set that included his Platinum 1959 album Heavenly and his 1984 concert album Live.

01 – Chances Are
02 – All the Time [From the Broadway Musical “Oh, Captain!”]03 – The Twelfth Of Never
04 – When Sunny Gets Blue
05 – When I Am With You
06 – Wonderful, Wonderful
07 – It’s Not For Me To Say
08 – Come to Me [From the Television Production “Come to Me”]09 – Wild Is the Wind
10 – Warm and Tender
11 – No Love (But Your Love)
12 – I Look at You

Electronically Re-channeled for Stereo.