Keith Jarrett, Gary Peacock & Jack DeJohnete – After The Fall (2018) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Keith Jarrett, Gary Peacock & Jack DeJohnete – After The Fall (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 01:45:38 minutes | 1 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Booklet, Front Cover | © ECM

“Another live album from Jarrett’s trio?” It’s hard not to let out a little yelp as the Allentown pianist continues his apparently-infinite discographic march, aided by drummer Jack DeJohnette and bassist Gary Peacock. But after listening to the first-ever release of this concert from 14 November 1998 at Newark’s New Jersey Performing Arts Center, you might start to see where producer Manfred Eicher was coming from when he decided to bring this one out. Keith Jarrett even said himself: “I was amazed to hear how well the music worked. For me, it’s not only a historical document, but a truly great concert.”

As ever, the three friends move quickly through a few classics from the Great American Songbook but also a few wonders by John Coltrane ( Moment’s Notice), Bud Powell (Bouncin’ With Bud) and Sonny Rollins (Doxy). Above all, that evening signalled that Keith Jarrett was back in business after two years spent offstage for health reasons. From 1996 to 1998 the pianist was suffering from Chronic fatigue syndrome, or CFS, and hearing his return to form here is a real treat. Let’s resist the temptation to start waxing lyrical about the fascinating complicity between Jarrett and his rhythm section, and just say that After The Fall is a record that speaks with one voice. It’s an original voice, as is the re-reading of Bud Powell that opens the concert – and swing proudly reigns at its heart. This world first is also a ray of sunshine and a burst of infectious joy. As ever, DeJohnette and Peacock merrily create jaw dropping havoc onBouncin’ With Bud… In short, it would have been a crime to leave these tapes in the archive.

01. The Masquerade Is Over
02. Scrapple From The Apple
03. Old Folks
04. Autumn Leaves
05. Bouncin’ With Bud
06. Doxy
07. I’ll See You Again
08. Late Lament
09. One For Majid
10. Santa Claus Is Coming To Town
11. Moment’s Notice
12. When I Fall In Love

Keith Jarrett, piano
Gary Peacock, double bass
Jack DeJohnette, drums