Kenny Barron Quintet – Concentric Circles (2018) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Kenny Barron Quintet – Concentric Circles (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 01:06:07 minutes | 1,38 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Blue Note

Following his sublime Book Of Intuition released in 2016 with bass player Kiyoshi Kitagawa and drummer Johnathan Blake, Kenny Barron is expanding his trio with tenor saxophonist Dayna Stephens and trumpeter Mike Rodriguez. The elegance, intelligence, refinement and perfect swing of the pianist are well-known, and for his first entry with the label Blue Note, the artist from Philadelphia now based in New York finds additional inspiration in the ardour of his accomplices. For these Concentric Circles, Barron opted for a repertoire mainly centred around his own compositions, complemented by Caetano Veloso’s Aquele frevo axe, drummer Lenny White’s L’s Bop, and Thelonious Monk’s Reflections. His quintet firmly bites into a hard-bop style, at times punctuated with Latino rhythms. More than anything, it’s the spontaneity of interventions and the fluidity of exchanges between the five men that make this album so enjoyable. None of them tried to reinvent the wheel, just make high-level jazz, without grandstanding or using frills. – Marc Zisman

01. DPW 04:51
02. Concentric Circles 07:26
03. Blue Waters 05:39
04. A Short Journey 05:28
05. Aquele Frevo Axe 08:15
06. Von Hangman 04:43
07. In the Dark 07:00
08. Baile 05:16
09. L’s Bop 05:54
10. I’m Just Sayin’ 06:51
11. Reflections 04:44

Kenny Barron, piano
Kiyoshi Kitagawa, bass (except track 11)
Johnathan Blake, drums (except track 11)
Mike Rodriquez, trumpet, flugelhorn (except track 11)
Dayna Stephens, soprano, tenor saxophone (except track 11)
Recorded March 19 & 20, 2017 at Systems Two Studios, Brooklyn, NY
Engineered by Joe Marciano
Mixed & Mastered by Max Ross
Produced by Kenny Barron