Kiril Kondrashin, RCA Victor Symphony Orchestra – Khachaturian: The Masquerade Suite; Kabalevsky: The Comedians (1958/2016) [HDTracks DSF DSD64/2.82MHz]

Khachaturian: The Masquerade Suite / Kabalevsky: The Comedians – Kiril Kondrashin, RCA Victor Symphony Orchestra (1958/2016) 
DSF Stereo DSD64/2.82MHz | Time – 33:03 minutes | 1,31 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Front Cover |  © Sony Classical
Recorded: Manhattan Center, New York, October 30, 1958

RCA’s “golden age” was more like a “golden minute” – in a scant period, roughly from 1958 to 1963, the beginning of the stereo era – pure vacuum tube amplification helped produce recordings demonstrating unparalleled fidelity and warmth, lifelike presence and midband illumination.
One of the best sounding recordings in the Living Stereo catalog finds Kiril Kondrashin conducting the RCA Victor Symphony Orchestra in performances of Aram Khachaturian’s The Masquerade Suite and Dmitri Kabalevsky’s The Comedians. Produced by Richard Mohr and recorded by Lewis Layton.

“In 1938, Dmitri Kabalevsky provided incidental music for a play produced by the Central Children’s Theater in Moscow, titled ‘Inventor and Comedian.’ The score is light and witty and its expressive language quite direct, as was expected in Stalin’s Soviet Union at that time. But here Kabalevsky was aiming at young audiences and had good reason to write tuneful, rather simple music. The play’s plot deals with a traveling group of entertainers who are more clowns than comedians. Two years later Kabalevsky extracted 10 numbers from the score for his suite The Comedians, which would become his most popular work, with only the overture to his opera Colas Breugnon even remotely rivaling it. His effort was quite successful in distilling the work’s best moments into a 15-minute suite, which he scored for small orchestra.”


Aram Khachaturian (1903-1978)
Masquerade Suite
1 Walz 4:31
2 Nocturne 3:51
3 Mazurka 2:41
4 Romance 3:47
5 Galop 3:07

Dmitri Kabalevsky (1904-1987)
Comedians Suite, Op. 26
6 Prolog 1:05
7 Comedian’s Galop 1:32
8 March 1:16
9 Walz 1:22
10 Pantomime 1:52
11 Intermezzo 0:52
12 Little Lyrical Scene 1:09
13 Gavotte 1:44
14 Scherzo 1:46
15 Epilogue 2:19

RCA Victor Symphony Orchestra
Kiril Kondrashin, conductor
Oscar Shumsky, violin solo #2