Lee Konitz, Brad Mehldau, Charlie Haden, Paul Motian – Live At Birdland (2011/2015) [HDTracks FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz]

Lee Konitz, Brad Mehldau, Charlie Haden, Paul Motian – Live At Birdland (2011/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 01:11:20 minutes | 1,39 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTracks | Artwork: Digital booklet | @ ECM

A quartet of master musicians and a program of jazz classics. “Live At Birdland” presents the finest moments from two inspired nights at New York’s legendary club, as Konitz, Mehldau, Haden and Motian play “Lover Man”, “Lullaby Of Birdland”, “Solar”, “I Fall In Love Too Easily”, “You Stepped Out Of A Dream” and “Oleo” with freedom, tenderness, and a love of melody that only jazz’s greatest improvisers can propose.

On this live 2009 recording from New York’s legendary club, four exceptional jazz musicians, an ensemble of history-making players, dive into the music without even a setlist. Lee Konitz, Brad Mehldau, Charlie Haden and Paul Motian approach the standards from new perspectives and unusual angles, playing them with freedom, tenderness and a melodic and rhythmic understanding found only amongst jazz’s greatest improvisers. Konitz has often said that he tries to play the material as if encountering it for the first time. With all four musicians listening intently, discoveries are continually made in the music.

01 – Lover Man
02 – Lullaby Of Birdland
03 – Solar
04 – I Fall In Love Too Easily
05 – You Stepped Out Of A Dream
06 – Oleo

Produced by Manfred Eicher.
Recorded Live at Birdland, New York, December 2009.
Engineers: James A. Farber, Paul Zinman, Nelson Wong, Sean Mail, SoundByte Productions Inc., NYC.
Mixed at Avatar Studios by James A. Farber and Manfred Eicher. Assistant: Akihiro Nishimura.

Lee Konitz – alto saxophone
Brad Mehldau – piano
Charlie Haden – double-bass
Paul Motian – drums