Lee Konitz Quintet – Konitz: Figure & Spirit (Remastered) (2018) [FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Lee Konitz Quintet – Konitz: Figure & Spirit (Remastered) (2018) 
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz  | Time – 48:45 minutes | 1,62 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © 2xHD

Figure & Spirit is an album by American jazz saxophonist Lee Konitz recorded in 1976. Featuring Ted Brown on Tenor Sax (who contributes compositions along with Konitz), Albert Dailey on Piano, Rufus Reid on Bass, and Joe Chambers on drums.

This spontaneous and exciting example of straight-ahead jazz blended with fearless improv shows the band in prime form. Mistakes are not omitted, creative freedom is elevated and explored.

Shown here in high-resolution from 2xHD, this record a must-have for fans of Konitz and jazz-lovers alike.

“Altoist Lee Konitz (who doubles on soprano) teams up with tenor saxophonist Ted Brown, pianist Albert Dailey, bassist Rufus Reid, and drummer Joe Chambers for this session. The six songs (originals based on standards by Konitz, Brown, and Lennie Tristano) were all performed in one take and although there are a few minor mistakes, the music is quite exciting and spontaneous. Brown was the best possible substitute for Wayne Marsh (Konitz’s original choice for the record) and sounds in prime form. It’s worth acquiring by fans of straight-ahead jazz, Lennie Tristano, and Lee Konitz.” (Scott Yanow, AMG)

01. Figure and Spirit
02. Dream Stepper
03. Smog Eyes
04. April
05. Without You Man
06. Dig It
07. Feather Bed

Lee Konitz, alto saxophone, soprano saxophone
Ted Brown, tenor saxophone
Albert Dailey, piano
Rufus Reid, bass
Joe Chambers, drums
Produced by Gus Statiras
Digitally remastered