Leon Bridges – Good Thing (2018) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/48kHz]

Leon Bridges – Good Thing (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz  | Time – 34:46 minutes | 404 MB | Genre: Soul
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Front Cover | © Columbia

On his brilliant 2015 debut album, Coming Home, Texas singer/songwriter Leon Bridges invited comparisons to Sam Cooke and Otis Redding with his authentic take on soul. Good Thing, his 2018 follow-up, finds Bridges leaving the ’50 and ’60s, instead embracing ’70s icons like The Stylistics (“Bet Ain’t Worth the Hand”) and Chic (“You Don’t Know”). More surprises come in “If It Feels Good (Then It Must Be)” and “Bad Bad News,” contemporary jams that show he can swag it out with the likes of Usher and Pharrell too. Bridges’ warm tenor is sturdy and smoky as mesquite wood as he combines deep emotions and nimble wordplay on “Beyond,” “Forgive You,” and “Georgia to Texas”—a moving story of his family’s history.

It’s 2018, Leon Bridges is back! Finally… after a debut album released in 2015, the stunning Coming Home, that was a sort of spirit child of Sam Cooke and Otis Redding, a soul brother mastering every corner of that sixties groove, the young Texan signs off on an even more eclectic disc: Good Thing. On the first track, Bet Ain’t Worth The Hand, he is languid like Curtis Mayfield. Later, he barges in on an 80s funky dance floor with You Don’t Know and If It Feels Good (Then It Must Be). Later again, he opts for a velvety nu soul on Shy… These are the general feelings that emerge after a listen to this sophomore album: he never rests on his laurels and sticks with one particular groove. Thus, a general vintage sentiment exits and incomes a plural groove. At this rate, Leon Bridges might do a bit of auto tuning on his third record…  –  Max Dembo

01. Bet Ain’t Worth the Hand
02. Bad Bad News
03. Shy
04. Beyond
05. Forgive You
06. Lions
07. If It Feels Good (Then It Must Be)
08. You Don’t Know
09. Mrs.
10. Georgia to Texas