Longbranch/Pennywhistle – Longbranch/Pennywhistle (1970/2018) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Longbranch/Pennywhistle – Longbranch/Pennywhistle (1970/2018) 
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz  | Time – 30:32 minutes | 356 MB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Geffen

Longbranch Pennywhistle’s only album is mostly of interest to collectors and intense Eagles fans, as it features Glenn Frey and J.D. Souther collaborating before either had risen to fame. It’s more low-key and less slick than the Eagles — than even the early Eagles records, in fact — but undeniably also lacks the pop hooks that made the Eagles successful stars from the git-go. Sometimes there’s a rollicking boogie or bar band rock flavor that works against the pair’s primary strengths, which were their easygoing country-rock harmonies. It’s best on the folkiest ballads, the standout number being “Mister, Mister.” The most famous song on this minor early country-rock LP, however, is “Kite Woman,” which Souther would do again for his early-’70s solo debut album.

1. Jubilee Anne (Remastered) 03:00
2. Run Boy, Run (Remastered) 02:58
3. Rebecca (Remastered) 02:45
4. Lucky Love (Remastered) 02:26
5. Kite Woman (Remastered) 02:30
6. Bring Back Funky Women (Remastered) 02:21
7. Star-Spangled Bus (Remastered) 03:10
8. Mister, Mister (Remastered) 04:10
9. Don’t Talk Now (Remastered) 03:18
10. Never Have Enough (Remastered) 03:52

John David Souther, guitar, vocals
Glenn Frey, guitar, vocals
James Burton, guitar
Ryland P. Cooder, guitar
Buddy Emmons, pedal steel
Larry Knechtel, piano
Joe Osborn, bass
Jim Gordon, drums
Doug Kershaw, fiddle

Produced, engineered and remastered by Elliot Scheiner

Digitally remastered