Magdalena Kozena, Stuart Skelton, Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra & Sir Simon Rattle – Mahler: Das Lied von der Erde (Live) (2018) [FLAC 24bit/48kHz]

Magdalena Kožená, Stuart Skelton, Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra & Simon Rattle – Mahler: Das Lied von der Erde (Live) (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz | Time – 01:04:08 minutes | 621 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © BR-Klassik

Conducted by Sir Simon Rattle, this performance of Mahler’s Das Lied von der Erde (The Song of the Earth) was recorded at concerts in Munich’s Herkulessaal on January 25 and 26, 2018, and features Magdalena Kožená and Stuart Skelton. The work is subtitled ‘A symphony for tenor, alto (or baritone) voice and orchestra’. It examines the border between two different genres: the Lied, in its extended form as a song cycle, and the symphony. The entire work is spanned by a taut arc, culminating – in accordance with the principle of intensification – in a huge final movement lasting as long as all the others together, and entitled Der Abschied (The Farewell). Here, Mahler is continuing the genre of the ‘Finale Symphony’, and the brightening of C minor to C major is even reminiscent of his usual apotheoses. In this symphony, as in his others, Mahler wanted to ‘create a world using all existing technical means’.

01. I. Das Trinklied vom Jammer der Erde (Live)
02. II. Der Einsame im Herbst (Live)
03. III. Von der Jugend (Live)
04. IV. Von der Schönheit (Live)
05. V. Der Trunkene im Frühling (Live)
06. VI. Der Abschied (Live)

Magdalena Kožená, mezzo
Stuart Skelton, tenor
Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks
Sir Simon Rattle, conductor