Maisha – There Is A Place (2018) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Maisha – There Is A Place (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz  | Time – 44:36 minutes | 486 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Brownswood Recordings

With Maisha, you don’t even need to get up to go travelling. Halfway between jazz-fusion and afrobeat, this ambitious project filled with mystery is led by drummer Jake Long. An exploration of atypical worlds as well as dreamlike and exotic atmospheres,There Is A Place brings together no less than six (excluding Long) musicians acting as tour guides: Amané Suganami (keyboards), Twm Dylan (double bass), Tim Doyle and Yahael Camara-Onono (percussions), Shirley Tetteh (guitar) and Nubya Garcia (flute and saxophone). Announced in the opening of We Out Here, a compilation released in February 2018 focused on the buzzing and young London jazz scene (a Qobuzism album!), Maisha show the depth of their musical ability here. And when the Londoners have run out of real places to inspire their music, they simply make them up, switching to spiritual jazz.

Maisha carry an intense cultural heritage. Inspired for the most part by prominent figures such as Sun Ra, Pharoah Sanders and the Coltrane couple (John and Alice), this album turns into a passionate homage, oscillating between airy melodies and pimped-up rhythms. With a splash of surf music and reggae as well as jazz guitars that dive into oriental sounds, the septet offers an intimate immersion into their secret garden. Quite fitting, as the album’s title is a direct reference to a small park where Jake Long likes retreating to. Five tracks − one of which hits the eleven minute mark – to paint five different landscapes. Progressive trance on Osiris with tribal tom-toms, flute melodies for the Zen atmosphere of a Japanese garden on Azure, and even investigative jazz that would be perfect for a detective-film soundtrack on Kaa: the panoramas keep flying by. A promising first album worth listening to on repeat for an endless stream of new imagery.  – Clara Bismuth

1. Osiris (11:49)
2. Azure (09:49)
3. Eaglehurst / The Palace (07:59)
4. Kaa (10:22)
5. There Is a Place (04:37)

Jake Long – Drums
Nubya Garcia – Saxophone/Flute
Shirley Tetteh – Guitar
Amané Suganami – Piano/Wurlitzer
Twm Dylan – Double Bass
Tim Doyle – Percussion
Yahael Camara-Onono – Percussion

Axel Kaner-Lindstrom – Trumpet
Johanna Burnheart – Violin
Barbara Bartz – Voilin
Tom Oldfield – Cello
Madi Aafke Luimstra – Viola
Maria Zofia Osuchowska – Harp

Strings arranged by Jake Long

Recorded at Soup Studios by David Holmes