Manuel Dunkel – Discoveries (2019) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Manuel Dunkel – Discoveries (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 51:47 minutes | 587 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Eclipse Music

In 2011, after the break, Yrjö award-winning saxophonist Manuel Dunkel released a new album on April 26th. Discoveries is the first Dunkel album with its own name since 2013, for example. The well-known Finnish musicians from UMO and numerous other top orchestras have brought together a great quartet: Alexi Tuomarila (piano), Eero Seppä (bass) and Jaska Lukkarinen (drums).

The new album is an excellent example of Dunkel’s tradition-conscious contemporary jazz expression, which the quartet brings to the top of the band. “This time my melodies were the starting point for my compositions,” Dunkel describes his songs succinctly.

Manuel Dunkel has been one of the most popular elements of Finnish jazz music since the 1990s. His record catalog is large and already includes five albums of saxophone player’s own production in addition to numerous other projects. Dunkel has worked hard in recent years, among others. UMO ranks and Espoo Big Band in concerts and recordings. After his previous album (Meeting Point, 2013), Dunkel’s play has been heard, among others. Recordings by Jim Pembroke and Pekka Tegelman.

01. The Endless Path
02. Discoveries
03. In Light
04. Baltic Avenue
05. Sky Is Crying
06. Sun Dogs
07. The Next Peak
08. Subways