Marc Ribot – Songs Of Resistance 1942-2018 (2018) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Marc Ribot – Songs Of Resistance 1942-2018 (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 54:06 minutes | 1,11 GB | Genre: Jazz, Avant-Garde, Experimental
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Anti – Epitaph

For 35 years, the name Marc Ribot has been featured on album covers by the likes of Tom Waits, Alain Bashung, Diana Krall, John Zorn, Robert Plant, Caetano Veloso and about 9,758 others. And whenever he isn’t lending his atypical guitar to these great artists, he enjoys – under his own name – breaking apart rock, jazz, funk, Cuban music, and everything he gets his fingers on. The 64-year-old New Yorker is relied on for his sounds, his touch, this battered atmosphere that he has crafted over the years and sounds like no other. Like an anti-guitar hero, arty Ribot is an alien who comes first and foremost from jazz. But his avant-garde DNA is also made up of rock’n’roll, soul, and even classical music…

Marc Ribot’s musical activism, even extremism, is also social and political, as shown by these Songs Of Resistance 1942 – 2018. A generous album, purposefully released in the era of Donald Trump, that features partisan anti-fascist Italian chants from World War II, songs from the Civil Rights movement in the United States, as well as Mexican protest ballads. Ribot leads the way on these eclectic tracks, alternating between percussive rock, libertarian jazz, brassed-up soul and classical folk. And to give his initiative even more visibility and power, he entrusted the microphone to a colourful selection of stars: Tom Waits, Steve Earle, Meshell Ndegeocello, Tift Merritt, Syd Straw, Justin Vivian Bond, Fay Victor, Sam Amidon, and Ohene Cornelius. A powerful album that is most definitely needed right now.  – Marc Zisman

01. We Are Soldiers in the Army
02. Bella ciao
03. Srinivas
04. How To Walk In Freedom
05. Rata de dos Patas
06. The Militant Ecologist (based on Fischia II Vento)
07. The Big Fool
08. Ain’t Gonna Let Them Turn Us Round
09. John Brown
10. Knock That Statue Down
11. We’ll Never Turn Back