Marion Rampal, Quatuor Manfred & Raphael Imbert – Bye-bye Berlin (2018) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Marion Rampal, Quatuor Manfred & Raphaël Imbert – Bye-bye Berlin (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 01:02:37 minutes | 614 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © harmonia mundi

Bye bye… or Berlin for ever?
Throughout the 1920s, all eyes were turned towards Berlin. Driven by a collective energy, artists of all persuasions (writers, painters, architects, filmmakers and composers) there established the principles of “New Objectivity”, which saw the city become the very epitome of modernity, at the same time as following in the footsteps of other great cities worldwide, not least New York, the birthplace of jazz. Life in Berlin was not the stuff of romance however: strikes, poverty, repression, the rise of Nazism… The post-war social context contributed to the craze that swept the capital for cabaret, a kind of safety valve that allowed for a moral and social release. It is this ephemeral, underground world of “Great Berlin” as depicted in The Blue Angel that Marion Rampal and the Quatuor Manfred invite us to rediscover here, in collaboration with saxophonist Raphaël Imbert: a liberal burst of freedom and humanity delivered with passion!

1. Marie Galante: Youkali 04:14
2. Cinq Études de jazz: III. Chanson 02:36
3. Die Dreigroschenoper: Die Morität von Mackie Messer 04:42
4. Die Dreigroschenoper: Barbara-Song 04:37
5. String Quartet No. 1: IV. Andante molto sostenuto 06:15
6. Der fliegenden Holländer: Ouvertüre 01:25
7. The Lavender Song 03:25
8. The Barrier: Help me Lord 04:59
9. Kammerkantate No. 6, Op. 61/1: Nein 03:32
10. String Quartet in B-Minor: II. Langsam und innig 03:54
11. Das Berliner Requiem: Ballad of a Drowned Girl 04:17
12. Kühle Wampe oder Wem gehört die Welt?: Solidaritätslied 03:27
13. Die Hollywood Elegien: I saw many friends 02:28
14. A Foreign Affair: The Ruins of Berlin 02:55
15. A Foreign Affair: Black Market 03:56
16. Der Blaue Engel: Falling in love again 03:35
17. Sieben frühe Lieder: Die Nachtigall 02:20

Marion Rampal, vocals
Manfred Quartet