Mark Turner & Ethan Iverson – Temporary Kings (2018) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Mark Turner & Ethan Iverson – Temporary Kings (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 53:44 minutes | 889 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © ECM

Masterpiece alert! After working together in drummer Billy Hart’s quartet (All Our Reasons in 2012 and One Is The Other in 2014), Mark Turner and Ethan Iverson are collaborating in a duo for the first time, in a way reminiscent of the legendary tandem Warne Marsh/Lennie Tristano. Except that here, The Bad Plus’ saxophonist and former pianist almost turn their collaboration into a moment of chamber jazz. Their back-and-forths throughout this Temporary Kings dive deep in intimacy. Turner, who is undoubtedly one of his generation’s best tenors, blows small, often unexpected phrases in a most unique fashion − far from the Coltranian cannons. Iverson, in a spirit reminiscent of Paul Bley, makes his fingers whisper, delivering thrifty notes and chords. Together, they sometimes moor on the shores of Third Stream, Gunther Schuller’s movement which synthetized European classical music and jazz at the end of the fifties. But most importantly, Mark Turner and Ethan Iverson remain very natural in their improvisations. Even when they may seem a tad brainy. Moreover, they never let go of the thread of their narrations, each more beautiful than the last.  – Marc Zisman

1. Lugano 05:00
2. Temporary Kings 05:44
3. Turner’s Chamber Of Unlikely Delights 05:54
4. Dixie’s Dilemma 06:00
5. Yesterday’s Bouquet 04:44
6. Unclaimed Freight 06:49
7. Myron’s World 07:15
8. Third Familiar 04:24
9. Seven Points 07:54

Mark Turner, tenor saxophone
Ethan Iverson, piano