Martti Vesala Soundpost Quintet – Stars Aligned (2018) [Qobuz FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Martti Vesala Soundpost Quintet – Stars Aligned (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 42:51 minutes | 918 MB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: Qobuz | Booklet, Front Cover | © Ozella

Trumpet player Martti Vesala clearly loves the jazz of the 60s and 70s – melodic without being too easy, funky and yet relaxed, filled to the brim with gripping grooves and ripping solos. Little wonder, then, that legendary jazz publication Downbeat recently compared him to Miles Davis. And yet, thanks to Vesala’s drive, passion and virtuosity “Stars Aligned” feels perfectly contemporary.

Martti Vesala Soundpost Quintet is a jazz ensemble formed in 2011 and is comprised of five young and talented jazz musicians from Helsinki, Finland. The instantly recognisable production of ‘Stars Aligned’, somewhere between vintage and entirely contemporary sound design, was sculpted by star producer Miikka Huttunen, highly respected for a string of successful Finnish releases from pop to jazz. Astoundingly, all eight minutely detailed arrangements of the album were taped in a mere three days: The title track with its emotionally ambivalent Leitmotiv and utopian harmonies; experimental study “Murky Green”; and, last but not least, beat-driven pieces like “Driving Force” or “A Murder of Crows”, which, with their casually swinging bass-and-drum-loops, are reminiscent of David Holme’s classic soundtrack for blockbuster Ocean’s Eleven.

01 – Compulsion
02 – The Sun’s Eye
03 – Stars Aligned
04 – A Murder of Crows
05 – The Lost Sea
06 – Rooftops
07 – Murky Green
08 – Driving Force

Produced by Martti Vesala. Engineered & Mixed by Miikka Huttunen.
Recorded on December 6-8, 2016 at Finnvox Studios, Helsinki.
Mixed by Miikka Huttunen at Neomusic, February 2017.
Mastered by Svante Forsbäck at Chartmakers West, March 2017.

Martti Vesala – trumpet, fluegelhorn
Petri Puolitaival – tenor saxophone, flute
Joonas Haavisto – piano
Juho Kivivuori – double bass
Ville Pynssi – drums, percussion