Merle Travis – Travis Pickin’ (1981/2018) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Merle Travis – Travis Pickin’ (1981/2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 30:37 minutes | 625 MB | Genre: Country
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © CMH Records

Though Merle Travis is known for his brilliant songwriting and fine singing, it is still his guitar playing that remains his most enduring contribution to American music. The syncopated ring of his signature fingerpicking style has gone far beyond the Kentucky coal country where he first heard it as a boy. His earliest recordings were much like the ones included on this album, simple solo acoustic instrumentals later termed, “Travis Pickin’”. It is with an acoustic guitar that the essence of Travis Pickin’ can best be appreciated. Unamplified and unaccompanied in the way Merle first heard the technique played. Every bit of music comes from the hands, the guitar, and the soul of the master, Merle Travis.

1. Rose Time 01:32
2. There’ll Be Some Changes Made 02:26
3. Born to Lose 02:46
4. Too Tight Rag 01:42
5. Your’e Nobody Til Somebody Loves You 02:20
6. Night Sounds 01:41
7. Sugar Moon 02:35
8. White Heat 01:18
9. Midnight Special 03:38
10. The World is Waiting for the Sunshine 01:21
11. Sleep 02:32
12. Love Letters in the Sand 02:10
13. Drifting and Dreaming 02:24
14. Sing Baby Sing 02:12

Merle Travis – guitar

Produced by John Wagner & Merle Travis