Meshell Ndegeocello – Ventriloquism (2018) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Meshell Ndegeocello – Ventriloquism (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/48 kHz  | Time – 53:29 minutes | 649 MB | Genre: Soul
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Booklet, Front Cover | © Naive

Throughout his albums, you quickly understand that Meshell Ndegeocello was more than a Prince-ss. It’s easier to just see in this amazing singer, bass player and songwriter the female counterpart of the small genius from Minneapolis… For a quarter of a century, she has created the perfect alchemy between jazz, soul, rock, pop, funk, new wave and hip-hop, a true custard pie that is usually indigestible when tried by her competitors. With her, free as a bird never rang so true. It’s only logical, as this is the meaning of Ndegeocello in Swahili… Her 2018 batch sounds like a return to the groove roots; Meshell entertains herself by revisiting songs from the masters of the genre (Prince, TLC, George Clinton, Tina Turner, Janet Jackson, Sade) and also from some forgotten names (Force MDs, Lisa Lisa & Cult Jam, Surface, Al B. Sure!).

Recorded in Los Angeles with her faithful Chris Bruce (guitar), Abraham Rounds (drums) and Jebin Bruni (keyboards), the aptly-named Ventriloquism is much more than a simple “cover album”. Stripped-down of their sometimes dated original sound, her songs are completely restored with care and taste by a Meshell that is as inspired as ever (TLC’s Waterfalls sounds like some Neil Young!) and yet beset by a rather dark personal touch. “The year around the recording of this album was so disorienting and dispiriting for me personally and for so many people I know and spoke to all the time. I looked for a way to make something that was light while things around me were so dark, a musical place to go that reminded me of another, brighter time.” This sensation of plenitude can be redeeming, and also kind of beautiful. All of that exudes from Ventriloquism, the strong work of an upstanding as ever and really unique artist.

01. I Wonder If I Take You Home 04:43
02. Nite and Day 04:59
03. Sometimes It Snows in April 07:05
04. Waterfalls 04:34
05. Atomic Dog 2017 06:27
06. Sensitivity 03:43
07. Funny How Time Flies (When You’re Having Fun) 04:33
08. Tender Love 02:41
09. Don’t Disturb This Groove 04:38
10. Private Dancer 04:51
11. Smooth Operator (Meshell Ndegeocello Version) 05:18