Mezza/Ginsburg Ensemble – Convergence (2018) [FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz]

Mezza/Ginsburg Ensemble – Convergence (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz  | Time – 01:02:35 minutes | 1,18 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Ozella

No Fear of Differences The shortest distance between two points, Archimedes wrote, is a straight line. Music, however, is rarely about finding the shortest distance. The curved and winding trajectories of Vittorio Mezza and Mark Ginsburg’s collaboration would certainly prove to be far more exciting and fruitful than any straight line ever could have been. For them, making music is about allowing contrasts to blend into something new, it is akin to two worlds slowly closing in on each other – occasionally clashing, at times overlapping. After a triumphant two-month tour through South Africa in 2016, Convergence marks the second milestone of the duo. It documents a long exchange between two personalities with highly individual backgrounds: Italian pianist Vittorio Mezza, an accomplished jazz performer with strong classical roots and a love for mediteranean life. And saxophonist Mark Ginsburg, who was exposed to ancient cantorial prayer modes in his youth alongside the rhythms and sounds of South Africa. These differences were undeniable. But Mezza and Ginsburg simply focused on what united, rather than what separated them: Their musical tastes, shared sense of beauty and the importance of family. Thanks to these ideals, this collection of ballads, slow-burning mood pieces and pulsating ensemble passages has turned out sounding remarkably unified. Distance is not for the fearful, it is for the bold., author Meghan Daum once wrote. And it certainly took a lot of faith and courage to pursue with the project. It goes without saying, then, that Convergence is much more than just a studio album. It is an ongoing exploration of what is possible in a collaboration and how to grow not just as musicians but human beings as well. This dialogue could potentially go on forever: Like an inspired conversation, the convergence of ideas never stops, becoming deeper and more intimate, forever expanding in scope and diversity.

1. Afa-Extended Intro 01:03
2. Afa 05:45
3. Seismi dell’Anima 05:59
4. Nostalgia 05:06
5. Affezioni 05:05
6. Big Sea 04:41
7. Enantiosemia a du 02:27
8. Melopea 02:59
9. For You 06:22
10. Mimesis 05:17
11. Common Purpose 04:28
12. Solipsismo a Strati 05:38
13. Paeninsula Tribale 04:20
14. Schizzi di Senso 03:25

Vittorio Mezza: Piano / Keyboards
Mark Ginsburg: Tenor And Soprano Saxophones
Luca Bulgarelli: Acoustic And Electric Bass
Marcello Di Leonardo: Drums
Fabian Hevia: Percussion
Justine Bradley: Vocals
Bel a cappella: Choir
Choral / Vocal Arrangements: Judy Campbell