Natalie Prass – The Future And The Past (2018) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

Natalie Prass – The Future And The Past (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz  | Time – 45:25 minutes | 503 MB | Genre: Indie Pop, Soul, Singer-Songwriter
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © ATO Records

Natalie Prass had her new album written, her band ready, the recording studio booked. Then the 2016 election happened, and out of her despair and disappointment in those results came an impulse she could not ignore: she rewrote the album to reflect these swirling emotions. The result is ‘The Future and The Past’ a stunning snapshot of a musician in a state of personal rediscovery and surging femininity. The celebratory and defiant ‘The Future and The Past’ also signals a significant artistic leap for Prass on the heels of her 2015 breakthrough debut album. It finds Prass tapping into deep, dancey grooves that glisten with 80s pop and 90s R&B, nestled alongside quivering, lushly orchestrated ballads. Like her debut album, Prass made ‘The Future and The Past’ in Richmond, VA with long-time friend and collaborator Matthew E. White at his Spacebomb Studios. She added some new collaborations to the mix as well: Blue (Solange’s ‘A Seat At The Table,’ Blood Orange, Carly Rae Jepsen) and Michael Brauer (Elle King and James Bay). ‘Future’ is ripe with string orchestrations and piano flourishes, snaking synth lines and fuzzed out guitars.

In 2015 with her first album, Natalie Prass was propelled to the top of the qualitysoul music scene. A protégé of hairy and inspired producer Matthew E. White, who enrolled her in his label Spacebomb, the Cleveland-born artist, now living in Virginia, carried in her beautiful and troubling voice the legacy of old-time singers that fed off soul music as well as country and pop, and lounged with delicacy on top of luxurious chord and brass arrangements. There was something of Diana Ross and Mininie Riperton, even of (early days) Mariah Carey about her, a singer with such touching, astounding melancholy… The softness of her slightly high-pitched voice curled up in top-notch arrangements that suited her to perfection. And while never getting the feeling of actually being in 2015, one never felt any clunky retro effects in her first and eponymous album… Three years later, Natalie Prass is still lounging in her XXL soul couch, but has clearly beefed up her groove. For The Future & The Past, Matthew E. White is still producing but has decided to take the frail soul sister down a much groovier path. This second album is funkier than its predecessor with R&B and even disco features. The music still evokes Diana Ross, but also Janet Jackson and Chaka Khan. In her love ballads and much more up-tempo tracks, the American singer offers a perfect, never overproduced soundtrack with a silky yet nervous sound. Simply impossible to remain seated while listening to such a marvel.  –  Marc Zisman

01. Oh My
02. Short Court Style
03. Interlude; Your Fire
04. The Fire
05. Hot For The Mountain
06. Lost
07. Sisters
08. Never Too Late
09. Ship Go Down
10. Nothing To Say
11. Far From You
12. Ain’t Nobody