NFM Wroclaw Philharmonic & Tonu Kaljuste – Arvo Part: The Symphonies (2018) [FLAC 24bit/44,1kHz]

NFM Wrocław Philharmonic & Tõnu Kaljuste – Arvo Pärt: The Symphonies (2018)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/44,1 kHz | Time – 01:19:22 minutes | 719 MB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Booklet, Front Cover | © ECM New Series

Pärt’s four symphonies stretch across a period of 45 years, from 1964 and 1966 respectively for the first two, 1971 for the third, and 2008 for the fourth. His first steps into the works of the symphony were still marked by dodecaphonism, although Pärt would not resist the gradual appearance of tonal poles in his work and “accidental” encounters between consonant notes and the harmonies that resulted; but the discourse remains very much linked to modernist principles, while exploring older forms of prelude and fugue, or indeed polyphony. With the Second, Pärt’s avant-gardist period came to an end. From the 1970s, Pärt would completely revise his language, and come to concentrate on religious and medieval music, in such a way that his Third Symphonythrows out dodecaphonism and all its theories, developing in their place a tonal, melodic, modal idiom (the old ecclesiastical styles, in fact). And within this personal revolution, Pärt would take a step into “tintinnabulum”, which formed the basis of the Fourth Symphony, written for strings, harp and percussion: a wide world of meditation, stunning, unreal, intangible, and fundamentally tonal, in which the movements from one phenomenon to another move immensely slowly, allowing the listener to savour every moment.

Arvo Pärt (1935- )
1. Symphony No. 1 “Polyphonic” : 1. Canons 11:18
2. Symphony No. 1 “Polyphonic” : 2. Prelude And Fugue 07:56
3. Symphony No. 2 : I 03:36
4. Symphony No. 2 : II 02:14
5. Symphony No. 2 : III 04:47
6. Symphony No. 3 : I 06:29
7. Symphony No. 3 : II 05:48
8. Symphony No. 3 : III 08:05
9. Symphony No. 4 “Los Angeles” : 1. Con sublimità. Marcando con maestà. Pacato 09:14
10. Symphony No. 4 “Los Angeles” : 2. Affannoso. Un poco più affannato 11:47
11. Symphony No. 4 “Los Angeles” : 3. Insistentemente. Con intimo sentimento Coda. Deciso 08:08

NFM Wrocław Philharmonic
Tõnu Kaljuste, conductor