Nicolas Kummert – La Diversite (2017) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Nicolas Kummert – La Diversité (2017)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 53:35 minutes | 1 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Edition Records

‘la diversité’ is the major new album from internationally acclaimed Belgian saxophonist Nicolas Kummert (of Drifter, Jef Neve and GrooveTHing and his own Nicolas Kummert Voices). Featuring Lionel Loueke, Blue Note Records guitarist and singer from Benin, Kummert s quartet brings together four diverse and creative minds in a unified album that will propel him to wide international attention. Six of the album s 14 tracks are actually duets featuring Nicolas and Lionel, highlighting the free-spirited interaction that has developed between them. Nicolas interest in diversity in music has led him to play with African artists (among others) such as Manu Dibango and Keziah Jones, and sees him regularly travel to the continent to play concerts and creative residencies. Nicolas first met Lionel Loueke through Beninese singer Patrick Ruffino, when they recorded the album E wa Ka Djo in 2008. In 2015 he asked the internationally renowned guitarist to join his new band, and they played their first concert in Brussels in September 2015. Lionel also brings a palette of musical diversity with him to the project having shared stages with Herbie Hancock, Wayne Shorter, Dave Holland, Chris Potter, Robert Glasper and many other international stars during his illustrious career to date. The result is a rich, but never over-complicated musical style that has compelled and excited audiences across Europe and Africa. With Loueke, Thys and Jannuska s contributions, the album naturally fuses music from diverse cultural roots into a powerful, organic entity. Just witnessing the friendship and empathy that exists between Nicolas and Lionel and their almost telepathic musical bond, it is hard to see ‘la diversité’ as anything less than the beginning of a great musical story.

01. Rainbow People
02. Le vent se leve
03. Harmattan
04. Lighthouse
05. Hallelujah
06. Gnossienne
07. Gnossienne a deux
08. Liberte
09. Le peuple de l’arc-en-ciel
10. La terre ne ment pas
11. Diversity over Purity
12. We’ll Be Alright
13. And What If We’re Not
14. Hallelujah Again – In Memory of Leonard Cohen

Nicolas Kummert – tenor saxophone
Lionel Loueke – guitar
Nicolas Thys – bass
Karl Jannuska – drums