Nienke Oostenrijk & Marianne Boer – Ladies Only (2016) [FLAC 24bit/88,2kHz]

Nienke Oostenrijk & Marianne Boer – Ladies Only (2016)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz  | Time – 01:14:35 minutes | 1,31 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © COBRA RECORDS

The songs collected for this recital ‘Ladies only’ mark Schubert’s strong empathy for women in poetry. Since uncertainty and emotional fluctuations were seen as particular female qualities, it is not surprising that poets in the Biedermeier era (1815-1848) used female personae to express their feelings of distress.

Nienke Oostenrijk has done excellent research into the meaning of these songs and therefore she has also contacted the famous English philosopher Roger Scruton, who wrote the essay ” Schubert is needed now more than ever” . She paints an accurate picture of how feminine feelings have played a role in Schubert’s life. In the performance by Nienke Oostenrijk and Marianne Boer you can hear how they interpret these songs with great understanding of text and context. This creates a beautiful combination of depth and naturalness, in which the interaction is truly sublime.

Franz Peter Schubert (1797-1828)
01. Gretchen am Spinnrade, D.118
02. Gretchen’s Bitte, D.564
03. Arietta di Claudine
04. Kolma’s Klage, D.217
05. Iphigenia, D.573
06. Suleika’s Erster Gesang, D.720
07. Suleika’s Zweter Gesang D.720
08. Viola, D.786
09. Axa’s Romanze
10. Ellen’s Erster Gesang, D.837
11. Ellen’s Zweiter Gesang, D.837
12. Ellen’s Dritter Gesang (Ave Maria), D.837
13. Die Junge Nonne, D.828
14. Lied der Anne Lyle, D.830
15. Szenen aus dem Schauspiel ‘Lacrimas’, D.857: Delphine

Nienke Oostenrijk (soprano)
Marianne Boer (piano)