Paul Simon – The Essential Paul Simon (2007/2015) [FLAC 24bit/96kHz]

Paul Simon – The Essential Paul Simon (2007/2015)
FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz  | Time – 02:30:55 minutes | 2,78 GB | Genre: Folk
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download | Front Cover | © Legacy Recordings

Released five years after Warner’s last Paul Simon comp, the single-disc The Paul Simon Collection: On My Way, Don’t Know Where I’m Goin’, the double-disc The Essential Paul Simon is a full 17 tracks heftier than its predecessor and contains all but one of its 19 songs (MIA is the latter-day “Love,” which only hardcore fans will recognize as from You’re the One, and they’re not quite the market for this set anyway). It’s also slimmer than the 1993 box Paul Simon 1964/1993, which spanned three discs but also encompassed his ’60s recordings with Art Garfunkel, plus a single the duo recorded as Tom & Jerry, along with selections from his solo debut, The Paul Simon Songbook — it was ambitious, where this compilation is efficient, picking up after the parting of ways with Garfunkel and running straight through until 2006’s Surprise. The sequencing isn’t strictly chronological — some songs are shuffled around for effect, with “Still Crazy After All These Years” closing the first, while “Take Me to the Mardi Gras” is cleverly followed by the zydeco stomp “That Was Your Mother” — but it roughly divides into having the first disc devoted to the ’70s and early ’80s, the second devoted to Graceland and beyond. Some might argue that there’s too heavy of a Graceland presence here — a whopping six tracks, over half the album — but it is his biggest album and functions as a nice transition between his better-known ’70s hits and the more esoteric but frequently compelling work that he’s done since. And, unlike The Paul Simon Collection, The Essential Paul Simon is designed to introduce fellow travelers to the interesting work he’s done since Graceland, as the second disc emphasizes that quite greatly, and it does a good job of it, while also providing a good summary of his best-known (and much of his best) solo work. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

01. Mother and Child Reunion
02. Loves Me Like a Rock
03. Me and Julio Down by the Schoolyard
04. Duncan
05. Kodachrome
06. 50 Ways to Leave Your Lover
07. Slip Slidin’ Away
08. Gone at Last (with Phoebe Snow and The Jessy Dixon Singers)
09. Something so Right
10. Late in the Evening
11. Hearts and Bones (Remastered)
12. Take Me to the Mardi Gras
13. That Was Your Mother (with Good Rockin’ Dopsie And The Twisters)
14. American Tune
15. Peace Like a River
16. Stranded in a Limosine
17. Train In the Distance
18. The Late Great Johnny Ace (Remastered)
19. Still Crazy After All These Years
20. Graceland
21. Diamonds On The Soles Of Her Shoes
22. The Boy In the Bubble
23. You Can Call Me Al
24. Under African Skies
25. The Obvious Child
26. Born at the Right Time
27. The Cool, Cool River
28. Spirit Voices
29. Adios Hermanos
30. Born in Puerto Rico
31. Quality
32. Darling Lorraine
33. Hurricane Eye
34. Father and Daughter (44.1 kHz)
35. Outrageous (44.1 kHz)
36. Wartime Prayers (44.1 kHz)