Pneuma – Michael Winograd: Who Has Seen the Wind? (2019) [FLAC 24bit/192kHz]

Pneuma – Michael Winograd: Who Has Seen the Wind? (2019)
FLAC (tracks) 24-bit/192 kHz | Time – 46:13 minutes | 1,53 GB | Genre: Jazz
Studio Master, Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | © Songlines Recordings

Flowing effortlessly from texted songs to Ayelet’s wordless compositions, where the voice is like another wind instrument, the quartet blends turbulent, contemporary electro-acoustic energies with gentler, klezmer-inspired gestures and jazz-infused improvisations, closing on a wistful note with François Houle’s lyrical arrangement of Tom Waits’ “The Last Rose of Summer.”

In “Who Has Seen the Wind?”, Pneuma use poetry from a variety of places and times, from Christina Rossetti to James Joyce and from Iranian poet Forugh Farrokhzad to 9th century Japanese poet Izumi Shikibu. The music is deeply rooted in improvisation, with a contemporary-classical / chamber music feeling. The compositions are fully developed, and the cycle is working conceptually with a poetic theme: the wind. (Pneuma is the ancient Greek word for air in motion, breath, spirit, soul.)

1 Alone 02:42
2 Neither I nor You / Pneuma 02:30
3 Trembling / Light 05:35
4 Passing Through / Lament for Harry 06:35
5 Neither You nor I – Conversation with Ora 03:42
6 Bow Down / The Wind Will Take Us 04:41
7 Passing By / The Shape of Tears 06:23
8 Who Has Seen the Wind? 04:18
9 Wakened by the Scent 02:27
10 Who Can Say What Loneliness Is 01:28
11 Ruined House 01:34
12 This Pine Tree 02:06
13 The Last Rose of Summer 02:12

Ayelet Rose Gottlieb – Voice
James Falzone – Clarinet, Eb Clarinet, Shruti Box
François Houle – Clarinet, Electronics
Michael Winograd – Clarinet